April Showers

My hair is looking FUNKY Today. I can’t put my finger on what it is, but ugh, I don’t like how my hair/face are looking in these photos.  It’s funny because yesterday I mentioned that I was having an ugly day but that my pictures didn’t look as bad as what I see in the mirror.   Today is the exact opposite.  I thought I looked okay in the mirror, but then when I see the pics I don’t like how my bangs look and it’s throwing the whole look off.

I picked up this infinity scarf at Wal-Mart because it has stripes and it was only a few bucks.  I’ve held off wearing it because, I’m not really much of a scarf wearer, but I did want to try it out with my polka dot sweater.  I think I like it(still a little undecided)

I tried two versions: tucked in and belted and untucked.  I think the tucked in version looks more polished, but the untucked version is more comfortable and easier to move around in and since it’s a fully packed schedule of patients today, well, I’m going with the untucked version.

aprilshowers (1 of 1)

aprilshowers1 (1 of 1)

{Sweater: Target, Scarf: Wal-Mart, Skirt: Limited, Shoes:Kate Spade, Bracelet: WHBM}

This past Christmas I made my in-laws and my brother-in-law custom dog cage covers as Christmas gifts.  My parents loved the idea so much that they asked me to make some for the cages they keep at their house for our girls.

They have a big cage and a little cage so I wanted to make the covers coordinate but not look exactly the same and since the room the cages are in is pretty neutral, I had a lot of freedom with the design.   My mom loves plaid and blue so when I was shopping at a local fabric store and came across this beautiful remnant of blue,champagne and green fabric with just enough for the large cage, I knew my mom would love it so I bought it as well as some champagne floral embroidered fabric with similar colors for the little cage.

For each cage, I used the fabric from the other cage to make bias tape for piping around the door and the top/bottom of the cage.  I think it helps tie the two cages look together.

momdad (1 of 1)

momdad2 (1 of 1)

momdad1 (1 of 1)

momdad5 (1 of 1)

I think the girls love their pretty new homes because they kept trying to get into the cages while I was taking these pictures.  I finally just let them go to town.

momdad4 (1 of 1)

momdad3 (1 of 1)

Puppy approved!

-Tamara

8 thoughts on “April Showers

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks!! I’m trying to figure out the best way to make some such that I can sell them on Etsy but I haven’t really figured out the best way to do that unless I just make some based on designs I like and hope that they sell….

    • guitargrl325 says:

      you are too kind! I’ve thought about putting them for sale on Etsy, but I’m not sure exactly how to go about it…because the ones I’ve made so far were custom made for individuals who I knew their decorative taste. For Etsy, I guess I’d have to pick out designs/fabrics on my own and hope that there is someone looking for something in that particular design scheme? Ideally, I’d like to do custom work where I work with the client to determine what they want and give them a quote based on the fabric they choose(because fabric prices can vary so widely, obviously a cage made from $7/yard cotton will be significantly cheaper than $20/yard silk).

      Also, cages are so many different sizes it’s hard to have already, ready to go covers not knowing what size a client might want. And door placement is another issue. For my in-laws, I used the side door, but for everyone else it’s been the door on the end.

      If you have any suggestions, I’d definitely welcome any ideas you might have.

      I have thought about just doing a couple covers in the sizes of cages that I have in neutral colors like black, cream, brown, ect and see if those are popular and then figure out a way to transition into custom covers.

      With the baby covers it’s easier because minky costs about the same no matter what so I can make all my car seat covers the same price and size.

      • dragonfly1121 says:

        I will have to think about this one, but I think you are on the right track with the neutral colors, plaids seem to be popular and if you should find some dragonfly fabric…….It is hard with the door placement, I don’t use the one on the end I use the one in the middle. You definitely have a talent and as long as you enjoy it then I say go for it, everything else will fall into place.

      • guitargrl325 says:

        I went online to Etsy to look at what other sellers are selling for kennel covers, and I didn’t like any of them. Not to brag or whatever, but I feel like mine are way nicer(and better fabric, they were all cheap cotton unlined without trim, whereas mine are tafetta, satin lined and with coordinating piping).

        The one I made for my In-laws was a beautiful shimmery gathered/rosette taffeta that is available in a variety of neutral colors so I think that would probably be the best place to start and offer those with a patterned trim and coordinating bed. As far as the door placement goes, I was thinking I could have a few already made with specified door placement, but also have listings for custom ones where you as the customer specify the door placement(ie, front or side) with some pictures of both so you can get an idea of which “look” you like better.

        I will definitely let you know if I come across any dragonfly fabric!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Well, your puppy is quite a bit bigger than mine are(maybe the same size as them all combined)! But it is actually in some ways easier having more than one because they entertain each other. I don’t know where Lili was when I was taking the photos(probably off with daddy …ha!)

Leave a Reply

