School Spirit

Are you into this whole March Madness deal?  Typically, I’m not. Sure, I might watch part of a game here or there and I’ll kind of be aware who is in the top, but I’ve never really gotten into it.

This year is a little different. You may have heard that a little unknown school has made it into the sweet 16 by winning some major games.  Well, that little unknown school is where I received my undergraduate degree.  Yup, I went to FGCU.  Not only did I go there, but my husband, his sister(my SIL), my Father in Law and my dad.   I met my husband there actually.

Quick story(which I may or may not have shared before), but I met hubby in Organic Chemistry(his sister was also in the class).  We “knew” each other for about 8 months before we started talking and eventually ended up dating.  All the while, both of our dad’s were getting their masters and were in the same executive MBA class(there were only 9 people in that class).  It was really funny when we realized we had this connection.  Because our dad’s class was so small, they continued to meet for drinks/dinner every few months after graduation.

After the hubby and I got engaged, our dad’s were attending a class reunion dinner of sorts and their class-mates knew that Tim’s daughter was getting married and Marc’s son was also getting married, but no one realized that they were marrying each other.  Guess it was meant to be!

Anyways, FGCU is playing Florida tonight and so I wanted to wear the school colors, because, obviously my wearing of FGCU’s colors will impart some sort of great luck towards them and they will win.

Today is another one of those evolution of a look days, where I’m going to show you were I started with my outfit, and then were I ended up.

FGCU’s main colors are cobalt and emerald(they are so trendy, haha), so I immediately knew that I wanted to wear my emerald blouse with my cobalt skirt.  I love this blouse in theory.  The color is GORGEOUS and I love that it’s made of silk…however, it’s one of those loose fitting shirts so it can tend towards looking shapeless.  And because the fabric is so silky and slinky it doesn’t stay tucked in very well without blousing out(and making me look like I have a huge spare tire).

I started with the skirt untucked(which, for some reason in this photo is making me look pregnant or something, but I’m definitely not!).  Also, there is a rogue chunk of bang hanging out on my forehead in every picture.  I hair sprayed the living crap out of that sucker and it still does what it wants.  Oh well!

school spirit (1 of 1)

It seemed unfinished to me, so I attempted to tuck the shirt in, and while the picture looks much better, it’s completely impractical because as soon as I move the skirt blouses out and comes untucked.  I may have to take the shirt in and add a zipper to get it on/off.

school spirit1 (1 of 1)

I then had the idea that maybe I could leave the shirt untucked but belt it at my natural waist and I’d create a sort of peplum effect.

school spirit2 (1 of 1)

That led me to try it with my new belt from WHBM(purchased with a b-day gift card), but I think that belt is too thick and just isn’t the right silhouette.

school spirit3 (1 of 1)

So, I went back to the skinny belt and added a cardigan because, well of course I’d add a cardigan(!) and also, it’s coldish out there today.

school spirit5 (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Talbots, Cardigan/Shoes: Target, Skirt/Skinny belt: Limited, Tights: Kohls, Necklace: Etsy, Bow Belt: WHBM}

So the necklace I’m wearing, that I also wore on Monday?  It broke while I was wearing it on Monday…I fixed it(obviously), but see I told you I have a necklace curse put upon me!!

Enjoy your weekend and GO EAGLES!

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “School Spirit

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Aww..thanks! Generally if my hair is in some sort of an up-do or something similar, it means that my hair is dirty or was looking really bad that morning, so that’s a good thing if people like how it looks!

Leave a Reply

