All things Kate(Plus the March Dress)

If there was one designer that basically embodies my style and whom I would love to own basically every piece of clothing, accessories, shoes and bags they make, it would be Kate Spade.  Her clothes, shoes and bags almost always are cute yet classic and transcend ages(ie, I could easily see myself, my grandma or my mom wearing Kate Spade and rocking it).

My very first DIY dupe was for a striped Kate Spade skirt.  I made my MIL a coat inspired by a Kate Spade coat.   I have saved multiple pictures of Kate Spade outfits for inspiration.  I just love the brand.

I have 2 pairs of Kate Spade shoes and an iPhone case, but I had never had a  bag.  As long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to own a Kate Spade bag.  My SIL and MIL love Coach bags and they have gifted me several over the years, but I’ve always had a longing for a Kate, and I’m not even a purse person!  I will use the same purse for years before switching to a new one, and I don’t change my purse based on my outfits.  Too much work.

Also, I’ve been wanting a bag that wasn’t covered head to toe in whatever brand name it happened to be(ahem, my coach bags are all of the fabric variety that are just dripping with the big C) so that it would be a little more classy.

I had been admiring a bag at Kate Spade that was grey leather with a black patent leather bow(!) and striped fabric interior.  Basically, a bag that looked like it had been made for me.  It finally dropped from nearly $500 to a final sale of $172.  Around that time, I received a coupon from Discover that they would credit my account $30 if I spent over $150 at katespade.com ….talk about fate!

We also had $100 in discover rewards dollars, so I asked hubby if I could get the bag. He knows how long I’ve wanted a Kate Spade bag(he almost got me one one time but his sister talked him out of it and told him to get me perfume instead), so he decided to just make it my b-day present.  So long story short, I was able to get the bag for about $50 out of pocket.

He wrapped up the package and I had to wait until my birthday to open it, but boy was it ever worth the wait.

Screen Shot 2013-03-27 at 10.11.11 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-27 at 10.11.03 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-27 at 10.10.53 AM

So, remember my New Year’s resolution/challenge where I stated I’d be making at least one dress/month for the entire year of 2013(I made a special page where I’ll add each dress as I make it so you can keep up)?  Well, with March being my b-day month and all, I knew from day 1 that I wanted to make a special dress to wear for my b-day dinner.

I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m not really very creative.  By that I mean, I need some sort of starting off point or an inspiration to get me going on most projects.  So, when I saw this striped dress from Kate Spade(ha), I knew I wanted to make something similar.

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 2.08.08 PM

It was perfect since I already had some black and white striped fabric in my collection.  The fabric was some I had bought over a year ago when I first got into sewing. It was on final clearance at fabric.com and I’m pretty sure that it is not apparel fabric, but I love the way the dress turned out.  It’s probably my favorite dress I’ve made so far(of all the dresses I’ve made, not just those for the challenge).  The stripes on my dress are thinner than in the original, but I followed the original silhouette by altering a bodice I already had and adding a dirndl skirt.

I made a removable bow that I pinned to the shoulder for a bit of elegance, but because it’s pinned on, I can remove it when I want to wear a cardigan over the dress to make it more casual(ie, work appropriate).

allthingskate (1 of 1)

allthingskate1 (1 of 1)

(The zipper wasn’t zipped all the way which is why it looks a bit uneven)

allthingskate3 (1 of 1)

It was a chilly night, so I finally was able to wear the cape I purchased several months ago from the Neimen Marcus+Target collection.  I love it and think it’s adorable as did the hubby.  It kept me warm except when the wind would swoop up under it, but it definitely completed the outfit.

allthingskate2 (1 of 1)

So from a Kate Spade bag to a Kate Spade inspired dress, it was all around a Kate kinda day!  Additionally, I styled my hair using a tutorial from Kate at The Small Things Blog, so it really was a Kate day!

We enjoyed a fabulous dinner with my parents then I crashed into bed as soon as we got home!  It was a great day all around.

-Tamara

9 thoughts on “All things Kate(Plus the March Dress)

  1. kimmie says:

    The bag is super cute! and only $50 out of pocket? that’s awesome! and I love your dress. Very kate spade-ish 🙂 Happy birthday, again!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I know right?? How could I NOT get the bag?? Now the only issue is my wallet looks horrid compared to the bag…not that my wallet is bad, but it’s a brown fabric coach wallet and the brown color of it against the grey/black colors of the bag is barf. Luckily I just received an email that the Kate Spade Outlet has 40% off plus an additional 20% off their wallets this weekend! Perfect timing since I have some b-day money to spend!

      I worried for a bit while I was making the dress that it was going to turn out a bit too prisoner stripe looking, but luckily I don’t think it did! And because the material is so stiff(the black stripes are actually velvet) it poufs out without needing a petticoat.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      She is one of my favorite bloggers. I have used her hair tutorials for so many things and have recommended her to all my friends when they ask for ideas for hair styles. I was at a wedding once sporting one of her ‘do’s and a girl asked me how I did my hair because she was getting married soon and wanted that exact style.

Leave a Reply

