It’s my Birthday!

Happy Monday everyone!  It’s a particularly happy one for me because as you can see from the title of today’s post…it’s my birthday!  I’m not one of those who hides her age, so here it is:  I am now 31.  I know that being in your 30s is still technically, “Young”, but sometimes I’m astounded that I’m this age.  I still feel like a kid a lot of the time. Heck, I remember when my mom was 31.

I don’t know why I sometimes forget I’m in my 30s since I have been married for almost 7 years, I’m a doctor and I own my own home.  I still feel a lot of times, that I haven’t yet “made it”.  Not sure if that’s because hubby is still a bit in limbo since he is in school OR if it’s because we don’t have kids?  Or maybe a combo of both?

Either way, as you’ve probably picked up by reading this blog, I adore celebrations, holidays, themes, parties, ect and my birthday is no exception.  I took extra time last night doing my weekly manicure in a particularly special way. I got up early to do my hair and makeup, picked out an extra cute outfit and I made a new dress to wear to my birthday dinner tonight.

polkadotnail

I originally was going for the polka dots with a lace like design on my ring finger…I just couldn’t get that to look right so I tried the bow and I LOVE IT!

bday4 (1 of 1)

{Sweater: Target, Necklace: Etsy, Skirt: Made by Me, Tights: Tuesday Morning, Shoes: Sears}

I wore polka dots with teal last year on my birthday, so maybe it’s going to become a tradition?

It’s been a pretty great birthday so far.  Hubby “got me”(i.e., I picked it out and ordered it, but he wrapped it) a great gift(which I’ll write more about later) and made me breakfast.  The owner’s of the practice in which I work paid for us to have lunch out and I’m heading to dinner with my parents and husband to one of my favorite restaurants for dinner after work!

Have a great day!

-Tamara

9 thoughts on “It’s my Birthday!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I never know what each age is supposed to feel like…I always feel the same day after day…I know that I’ve gained maturity(and a few wrinkles haha) over the years, but generally I still feel like the same person I did 10 years ago. I do enjoy “surprising” people with the fact that I am in my 30s.

  1. Sanah says:

    Hey ! A very happy belated birthday fellow arian ! I’m going to turn 17 in 3 days ! You dress and your manicure looks classy ! Wishing you a happy and prosperous year ahead. 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Well, Happy Birthday to you as well!! It’s definitely a cliche old person thing to say, but seriously I feel like I was 17 two days ago and suddenly I’m in my 30s, so treasure the time you have now!

  2. kimmie says:

    What a fun outfit! Happy birthday, Tamara!!! 😀 Hope you had a wonderful day 🙂

    I’m a few months older (turned 30 in November) and I ALWAYS forget that I’m 30. I still feel like a kid sometimes!

      • guitargrl325 says:

        Yup, I’m an old lady, haha. I married a younger man though(he just turned 30 in January). Funny story, my sister’s husband(she’s 5 years younger than me) is older than my husband! Just by 6 weeks, but still, it cracks me up.

        Well, you have kids and you still feel like a kid sometimes so I guess it’s not that we don’t have kids making me feel young. I guess you really are as young as you feel.

Leave a Reply

