Dots and Spots

Hi, my name is Tamara and I like to mix patterns.  I can’t help it; I just love the way it can brighten an outfit.  I know that some people dislike pattern mixing declaring it to be “too busy” but I am not one of those people!

Since I’ve done stripes+leopard multiple times, I figured it was time to attempt, polka dots with leopard.  Before we get to the pictures though, let me tell you a sort of funny story.  So, the manager of the location I practice at most of the week and I have VERY similar taste in clothing.  We even have a few cardigans that are the same.  At least once/week, we end up looking like we coordinated our outfits together.

This morning as I was getting ready I was thinking about how funny it would be if she wore her leopard cardigan(which is the same as mine).  When I walked into work this morning I burst out laughing because, indeed, she was wearing her leopard cardigan.  To make matters even more hilarious, my technician was ALSO wearing leopard(not a cardigan, but still).  So, all three of us women decided completely independently to all wear leopard on this very day.

spotsdots (1 of 1){Shirt: Banana Republic, Cardigan: Old Navy, Skirt: Target, Belt: Limited, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini, Necklace: WHBM}

I’ve collected a fair amount of colored shoes over the years because I typically like coordinating my shoes with my outfits, but lately I’ve been reaching for my nude pumps more often than not.  But, because I like to present different options for you, here’s the outfit with my red wedges…which are what I’m wearing today because I have a busy schedule and they are very comfortable.

spotsdots1 (1 of 1)

I wish my bangs would freaking grow back!!

Guess what?  I got a new sewing machine yesterday!!  The one I had(wal-mart cheapie) was giving me tons of difficulties.  It jammed all the time and couldn’t handle thick fabrics, plus it did uneven stitches pretty frequently.  Hubby and I both knew that if I were going to make items to sell, I needed a new machine.

I had visited one sewing store and explained my needs.  They had told me the machine they recommended was $1600.  WOW!  Gulp…we thought about it and decided we should go for it, hoping that eventually I’d make enough profits from making covers that it would pay for itself.

Yesterday at lunch I was literally driving to that store to buy the machine when I decided to check out the other sewing store in another part of town.  The owner was really nice and he also showed me a $1600 machine….but then he mentioned that he had another machine that would likely do all I needed and was only $460(which granted is still a lot, but compared to $1600, it’s a bargain).  I told him that while that was definitely appealing, a worry I had was that I’d buy a $500 or $800 machine only to outgrow it and have to buy a $1600+ machine in a short time period.

That’s when he told me that they offer a 100% credit towards the purchase of a new machine within 1 year of the purchase of the original machine.  So basically, if my sewing business takes off and I’m cranking out tons of covers, I can trade in my $460 machine and $460 towards a new machine.

And, if the business doesn’t take off, at least I haven’t invested a small fortune into a sewing machine.  I needed a better sewing machine even just for my personal projects anyways, and I think $460 is a reasonable amount for a home sewing machine.

The machine I got is pretty simple: it only has 30 types stitches and doesn’t do all sorts of fancy things….but I didn’t need all that.  I basically needed a powerful motor that can power through multiple layers of minky, and my new machine excels at this.

If anyone is interested, the machine I got is a Janome 7330.  I have only used it for a few minutes, but so far it blows my old machine out of the water.  I’m looking forward to really putting it to work this weekend!

-Tamara

Ps-My aunt is in surgery today getting a huge mass removed from her neck.  If you think of it, I would greatly appreciate any prayers for her surgery and subsequent recovery.  Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Dots and Spots

  1. heidi says:

    congrats on your new sewing machine, that had to have been a really exciting purchase, especially since you got a better deal than you were originally anticipating!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Very much so!! It’s always good to be expecting a certain price and then get something for SIGNIFICANTLY less than you thought. It was still a better deal that I thought I would get before I even originally went shopping. I figured(before I got the $1600 quote) that I’d be looking at spending around $800 for a new machine….then I thought I had to spend $1600….so spending under $500 is awesome!

      I sewed with it all weekend and it performed fantastically…except for one issue…after it’s been on for a a few minutes it starts emitting this high pitched yet faint whine. It’s almost not noticeable but annoying enough I’m going to have to take it back and exchange it for a different one. I’m assuming it’s just that particular one has some sort of flaw, because other than that it’s perfect. I was able to make myself a dress as well as almost finish a dog cage cover for my parents.

Leave a Reply

