Porsche Inspired Infant Car Seat Slip Cover

I’m really excited to bring you this post!!  This is a post about the coolest/most exciting thing/gift/item I’ve ever made.  When my niece was born, I purchased a car seat cover for my sister-in-law that was leopard print with bright pink accents.  My SIL adored the cover because not only did it look adorable(people were always commenting on it), but it was completely washable so when baby had a spill or a blowout, you just pulled off the cover and tossed it in the wash.

It was also soft and made a nicer surface for baby to lay in.  When my nephew was born, I planned to buy him a similar cover, but in a masculine design. I could NOT find one that I even remotely liked, so I told my SIL and BIL that I would try to make them a custom car seat slip cover if they told me what they wanted.

My BIL is into Porsche’s in a big way, so he wanted something that would say Porsche and would look race car inspired.  We chatted back and forth a few times and I made some sketches for him.  The basic idea was something like this:

IMG_4006

He liked the idea but wanted a different placement of the patch.  I ordered/bought all the fabric/notions/patches I would need and got to work.

I used the old car seat cover as a template and made my own pattern.  I worked really hard(basically it was all I did when I wasn’t at work for about a week) to get it completed before we went to Florida.  I had enough fabric left over, so I also made a matching blanket.

I really enjoyed making this car seat cover and I’m thrilled with how it turned out.  Everyone is telling me I need to start making these to sell, so I am currently working on getting supplies and other such things so that I can open an Etsy store.  I’m planning to design some girly covers as well.  My idea is that the customer will be able to choose what kind of car/motorcycle they want patches of, the type of racing stripes and the trim color and then I’ll deliver them a custom car seat slip cover.

Ideally, I’d love to get into a position where all my covers are custom…Ie, you contact me with your ideas, I draw up a sketch and then I make a completely custom cover based on your exact wants/specifications.  But I have to start somewhere, so I’m starting with a sort of customizable cover for boys and a few ready to go ones for girls.

Side shot of the cover on the car seat with the blanket folded in the seat as well:

Porsche (1 of 1)

Looking down into the seat:

Porsche2 (1 of 1)

This one shows the racing flag fabric I used to line the canopy with:

Porsche3 (1 of 1)

Back of the canopy:

Porsche1 (1 of 1)

Front view with car seat cover and blanket:

Porsche6 (1 of 1)

Blanket Front:

Porsche4 (1 of 1)

Blanket Back:

Porsche5 (1 of 1)

I’m still working on getting my Etsy shop set up, but if you are dying to get one of these car seat slip cover for yourself, let me know in the comments and we can work something out!

-Tamara

19 thoughts on “Porsche Inspired Infant Car Seat Slip Cover

  1. Emily says:

    This is amazing. You are one talented lady! I have no need for one now, but eventually I may be in the market for an Audi one if you are willing to branch out.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      HahaAwesome! Yes, I can do Audi! Basically any car or motorcycle or boat brand that a person wants, as long as I can find patches for it is do-able.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! My SIL has gotten lots of comments on it. Her pediatrician asked for my info when I get my store set up; I hope that means he’ll direct his patients to buy from me!!

  2. michelle says:

    Can’t you get into trouble from a copyright standpoint? Super cute for sure, but I know that these types of things get legal if it gets to be a noticable deal.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’m not exactly sure since I’m not claiming for it to be an official porsche item…just inspired by…but that’s a good point and something to think about. I mean, they sell the patches, so I assume they don’t mind people sewing them onto clothes and other such things? I didn’t make the patch, just bought it on Amazon, which I would assume if I bought an embroidery machine and attempted to make my own labels that were a direct copy of the brand THAT for SURE would be a copyright issue. I will definitely have to look into this. Thank you so much for bringing it to my attention.

      I would think though, that in reality, the car seat cover with a Porsche or Audi or Honda label on it is really just advertising for said company considering that none of them make car seat slip covers. If they did make a car seat slip cover, then I would 100% say it is a copyright issue, but when it’s just a patch? I honestly have no idea.

      • michelle says:

        It’s an interesting thing using a company’s logo. You may be able to contact them directly to get their approval if this turns out to be something big. It’s a cute mock-up and don’t forget to charge Porsche prices when you come to sell it 🙂 Good luck.

      • guitargrl325 says:

        I’m going to email my cousin who is a law student to see if she knows or knows of someone who could answer this quandary. I’m really glad you brought it up so I could figure things out before I get in trouble!!

        Sent from my iPhone

  3. michelle says:

    Post the response. I’d be interested in the correct answer. Agree with your point on the patches, but I think that it’s when you try and resell the patch and use the name of the company. However, I only did a semester in business law 5 years ago.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Okay, so I talked to my cousin last night and you are correct, it is copyright infringement to sell them with so and so’s car label on them. She did say that I could contact each car company and ask to buy a license to use said image, which is likely what the company I purchased the labels from has done. I guess I figured that their usage license covered my use of it as well, but it must extend only to personal use, not for making a profit. She seems to think the companies would probably be willing to work with me since it is basically like free advertising for them.

      I will probably look into that, but for now I think I will still make the covers, but just use a non-trademarked patch that has something to do with racing. Maybe make up my “own” brand and have patches made. That way, there is NO chance of copy-right infringement!

      I’m seriously really grateful that you brought this up. It would have sucked so badly if I had put 100s of dollars into making these covers only to be told I can’t sell them(or worse yet, get sued!)….and they wouldn’t have been salvageable because you can’t just take the patch off without ruining the minky.

      The good news is, though, it would seem that I can still make them as gifts with the actual car patches attached, so for other family members and close friends who might want a specific labeled one, I can still make it.

      Again, I can’t thank you enough for bringing this to my attention!!!

  4. michelle says:

    No worries 🙂 – I am pretty sure that most of this all comes down to companies wanting to protect the use of their logo (so that it’s not being attached to a bunch of tat), plus the whole profiting on their name is something that would no-doubt be an issue too. Go to the Porsche or car company website and see if they already have something like this. Who knows, your covers are super cute. They may be really impressed with your mock and have you be their official child seat designer… – how freaking cool would that be??

    Either way, you’re going about it the right way. If you get approval put me down for a blue/gray/white VW baby seat 🙂

  5. Chelsea says:

    Hi! I was just seeing if you were interested in making pretty much that SAME exact Porsche cover that you made for you SIL?? Except add 911 to it? (My boyfriend also has an obsession with Porsches and owns a Porsche 911 Carerra 4s). If not I completely understand, we both just LOVE your design.

    You’re extremely talented by the way!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I sent you an email in reply, so check you’re email for that…and thanks for stopping by!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Unfortunately, I found out that I can’t use the Porsche label on any that I sell because it would be copyright infringement…but I designed my own “label” as it were that is sports car inspired and kept everything else the same(racing stripes, ect). The cost for a cover is $175, plus $10 shipping or $200 for both the cover and the blanket with $15 shipping. I’m still working to build an inventory to set up a shop on Etsy but I can have something ready for you within a week if necessary.

  6. Tiffany says:

    I absolutely love this and was wondering would you be able to make me a duplicate of this exact same seat cover with the blanket and how much would you charge

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I somehow didn’t get this message till just now. I am so sorry. I feel like such a jerk. I’m certain you no longer need the cover as you probably have gotten a different one by now, but I do have some ready to go race car covers if you are still looking. I am not able to have the Porsche label on it as that it trademarked and I couldn’t sell a trademarked item, but I do have a patch I made that has a race car and says “Little speedster”.

Leave a Reply

