Beauty Mark…THE Beauty App For YOU

If you don’t already know, I like makeup… A LOT. So when my friend Ashley announced on Facebook that she was developing a makeup tutorial app…I got REALLY excited.  My friend is an amazing wedding photographer who got together with a good friend of her’s who is a makeup artist to create this app.

It took several months from the initial announcement until the actual release of the app, but my excitement was building throughout the time.  As soon as Ashley announced that the app was ready for download, I immediately purchased it(it’s only $2.99).

I’ll be honest, I was a little underwhelmed at first.  The app is divided into four different types of looks(Natural, Glamorous, Bridal and Dramatic).  Within each type there are 3 different skin colors with about 4 eye makeup looks each.  I was hoping there would be tons of unique and special looks.  It’s limited on what is available.

You scroll through the different eye, cheek and lip looks and then click on each one individually to find out more information about it.  There is both a video tutorial and a drawing for each look.  When I first looked through the app, I just looked at the drawings and found them to be lacking in  some of the steps necessary to create the look.

However, once I started playing around with it, I realized that I actually was starting to really like it.  You have to watch the videos.  That is where you’ll get the tips and tricks and the knowledge to create the looks.  Once I started using the videos, I really started to like this app.

I think it would be fantastic for a newbie or someone just looking to expand their repertoire of makeup looks.  It’s much easier and quicker to scroll through this app for a new look than to scour youtube to find one.  The tutorials are easy to follow and don’t use 1600 different products and require tons of blending, ect.  I don’t have all the same exact shades and/or brushes that were used and I still was able to recreate the looks I liked.

Just for fun, I followed the tutorial for a few of the looks and I wanted to share those with you here.

LOOK #1

This look used pink/purple shadows.  While mine turned out much more purpley than the original, I actually really like how it looked and it’s definitely something I wouldn’t have tried without this app:

day3Day 3-2 (1 of 1)

Day 3-1 (1 of 1)

Day 3-3 (1 of 1)

LOOK #2 is a champagne/brown smoky eye perfect.  I used the Naked 1 Palette and I LOVE how this one turned out.

day2template day2-3 (1 of 1)

day2-2 (1 of 1)

Day 2-3 (1 of 1)

LOOK #3  This is a smokey grey black look.  I thought I had tried every different possible way to create a smokey eye, but it turns out, I learned another way.

day1template Day1-2 (1 of 1)

Day1-3 (1 of 1)

Day1-1 (1 of 1)

If you have an Iphone and are looking for some makeup inspiration and/or tutorials, I’d encourage you to download the Beauty Mark App.  If you do get this app and try out a look from it, let me know!  I’d love to see it.

-Tamara

PS-I was not compensated in any way for this post and I paid for the app myself.  I just thought it was cool that someone I know developed an app and I figured other people might like to try it out and so I figured I’d do a post about it.

2 thoughts on “Beauty Mark…THE Beauty App For YOU

Leave a Reply

