Long Weekend

I’m back from a whirlwind weekend trip.  I had originally planned to schedule some posts to show up while I was gone…but I got busy doing other things and didn’t do it.  That’s probably one of the reasons I won’t ever be a super-star famous blogger…I just don’t put in the effort!

Anyways, it was quite the weekend.  Our original plan was to drive down early Friday morning and leave late Monday afternoon.  It did not end up working out that way.  My in-laws and niece/nephew were in Fort Lauderdale Thurs/Fri visiting some family who was down from Canada so there was no point in getting there early on Friday.  floridatrip2 (1 of 1)

We arrived at my in-laws new house a little after 5(with my in-laws arriving themselves just minutes earlier) and had a nice dinner at home with all the family.  We played with the kids and just enjoyed each other’s company.

floridatrip3 (1 of 1)

During the trip down, my car was really loud and hubby was concerned.  Turns out, I needed new tires…on a 2 year old car.  That was quite a financial hit let me tell you!  Luckily my BIL is a mechanic and has tire installation equipment in his garage, but still it’s quite a sticker shock going from tires for a civic to tires for a CRV(almost twice as expensive).

Saturday was spent at the Farmer’s Market, shopping and eating.  We woke up early Sunday morning to meet hubby’s aunt and uncle for breakfast before heading up to his sister’s house to get the tires installed.

floridatrip1 (1 of 1)

We left around 2:30 to head back home, which was a frustrating experience(lots of bad traffic).

Now that it is official, the reason we had to leave a day early is that hubby now has a new job/promotion.  He will still be doing IT for Best Buy, but now it will be from home and he started his first day of work/training yesterday.  It’s going to be great because it will mean we can actually go places instead of always being stuck in Savannah at holidays(he can work from anywhere that has wifi). We are already planning a trip to Florida for Thanksgiving.

floridatrip (1 of 1)

At first I was bummed that our trip was cut short, but let me tell you how nice it was to have yesterday off. I was able to get everything unpacked, the house cleaned, laundry done and food made for the week.  I think I will always try to schedule an extra day off after any trips we take in the future.

The two funniest/cutest things that happened all weekend were both courtesy of my niece.  The first was when she and my hubby were sitting on the couch.  She started trying to climb over the back of the couch so he told her “No” and made her sit down.  She gave him a death stare then went over to her little play tent to pout.  He went over to her and stuck his head into the tent and she walked out and gave him a big hug.

Later at lunch, we were all eating some paleo brownies I had made.  Every single time she would take a bite she would say, “MMMMMM!!!” really loudly and smile.  I wish I had gotten some video of that!

This post is going to be really long, but I didn’t want to split it into two posts and flood inboxes with post notifications.  So, we are going to change topics completely and move onto my outfit for today.

A few notes: I was trimming my bangs on Thursday night and somehow my hand slipped and I hacked a huge chunk of my bangs out.  In my attempt to even them out I ended up with super short, choppy bangs.  You’re probably going to see them pulled back and twisted for a few weeks until they grow out some.  I have a huge forehead(more like a six head) but you gotta do whatcha gotta do!

I went through several versions of this outfit before settling on this combination. It’s cute, but looks incredible similar to some stuff I’ve worn before…that’s what happens when you are  re-wearing the stuff in your closet!

I seriously had almost given this cardigan away because it looks wonky when you wear it unbuttoned.  I’m so glad I didn’t because I love how it looks when it’s buttoned up(don’t ask me why I had never tried it buttoned up before).

floridatrip5 (1 of 1)

{Blouse/Cardigan: Ann Taylor Outlet, Skirt: Penney’s, Jewelry: WHBM, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini}

-Tamara

 

4 thoughts on “Long Weekend

  1. kimmie says:

    Congrats on your husband’s new job! and ugh about needing new tires. 😦 My husband was telling me about this girl that he encountered on Thanksgiving where she had gotten brand new tires at Les Schawb the day prior, and was driving to her parents house (a few hours away) with pies and tons of food in the trunk, when the tires FELL OFF THE CAR and completely messed up her car because they were not installed correctly. So at least you made it your destination in one piece!

    Also, your forehead looks FINE. No sixheads to be seen, and I’m sure your bangs look fine. And Paleo brownies? what’s in them? recipe please! and I love love love that skirt.

    Oh, and I tagged you in the “Five Things” thingy over on my blog!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That is crazy scary about the tires! On our way back home we saw an accident that must have just happened and one of the wheels had come off the car and was rolling down the interstate.

      The brownies recipe came from PaleOMG and the frosting is from The Paleo Mom. I tripled the brownie recipe and doubled the frosting recipe and it made a 13×9 pan of brownies with ganache icing almost as thick as the brownies themselves. They were good the first night I made them….AMAZING the second. Don’t refrigerate them though….they are much better at room temp.

      Oooh, now I have to go look at your blog and see this 5 things thing!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Isn’t she though? You can’t see it in the photos but she has a head of blonde curls that I adore. I wish I could see her(and my nephew) more often than every 8 months though…..

Leave a Reply

