Pink and Polka Dotted

So…I finished my bathing suit last night.  I’m not 100% in love with it, but hubby says it looks great and I texted a picture to my sister and she really liked it….I made so many mistakes that I ended up wasting a lot of fabric(good thing I bought extra).  I guess for my first bathing suit I made without using a bathing suit pattern it’s okay. I’ll definitely wear it, but it definitely annoys the perfectionist in me that it’s not PERFECT!

I cheated a bit and purchased a white bikini bottom from Wal-Mart to wear underneath the skirt so I didn’t have to make that part(I ran out of time)

IMG_2055

So moving on to today’s outfit, the skirt I’m wearing today looks almost like I made it out of the polka-dotted swim fabric you see above.  It’s not though…I picked it up at Target last week after seeing it on Heidi’s Blog.  I had been lusting after the J. Crew version for way too long(and had even made my own polka dot pencil skirt…but it was too small) so I spent the $20.  I’m so glad I did…I am in love with this skirt.

Bonus…I guess because of doing the Whole3o challenge, I was able to buy a smaller size than I have worn in this style of skirt previously(I also own this skirt in a orange color).

Never one to shy away from bold prints, I decided to pair the skirt with a floral print blouse and I love the outcome.  The pink color of the belt is a little off but I felt like I needed some definition at the waist.

pinkandpolka (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Express, Cardigan: Talbots, Skirt/Necklace: Target, Tights: Ann Taylor, Shoes: Ross}

Suddenly my bangs are too long and unruly and hanging in my eyes!  I now have them pinned back, but I’ll definitely be trimming them tonight!

I have most of my clothes/accessories and such for my weekend already put together, I just need to grab a few more things and place them in my bag then I’ll be ready to leave bright and early tomorrow!  I’m working on a little beauty post to go up tomorrow while I am away so stay tuned for that(it’s actually pretty exciting!).

-Tamara

8 thoughts on “Pink and Polka Dotted

  1. Emily says:

    This is a multi-part comment: 1. You are a brave woman to post a picture of yourself in a bikini on the internet, in no way am i saying that you don’t look amazing, just you are very brave. 2. The bathing suit is cuter than I have ever see in a store. If the whole doctor thing doesn’t work out I see a second career. 3. I am also in love with the target skirt but am not as brave (there I go again) and would probably wear it with a white button down and nude heels.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I was not going to post it….but it doesn’t fit properly on my dress form(it’s a bit bigger in the bust/shoulders than I am) and I knew since I had talked about it so much, people would want to see it. Also, since it has the skirt, that was the only way I was comfortable posting it. I would NOT feel comfortable posting a real bikini bottom.

      The top was supposed to be full length but I messed up on it, but hubby said it was cute at the length the top is.

      Okay, I LOVE your idea of pairing the skirt with a white blouse and nude pumps. I’m going to have to try that out. I didn’t even THINK of that! THANKS!!

  2. michelle says:

    Wow – You have the same body type as me. Check out that waist and those curves. You’re in awesome shape and like me, have some hips which the last time that I checked are all part of being a….woman 🙂 It’s a confidence thing right, which from the outside looking in, you have nothing to worry about. I live in Tampa, FL and I wear girly board shorts on the bottom with a cute bikini top. Works really well for me because my hubby and I windsurf so it’s cute and practical.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      You are very kind. I definitely have more than my fair share of hips/thighs, which is why I made the bottom a loose skirt….to kind of conceal what’s going on down there! I have also done the board shorts/bikini top thing before as well. It’s more flattering, plus it cuts down on chub rub(you know when your inner thighs rub together). I used to be(and sometimes still have moments) where I am so self-concious about my thighs but as I’m getting older I’m starting to accept my body more and more.

      Besides all health reports say that having bigger hips/thighs are actually an indicator of health and make you have smarter babies….so I think it’s a good thing!

  3. kimmie says:

    Your swim suit is awesome! I love the polka dots and… dang girl, you look amazing. But what I loved most was that I couldn’t see your phone until I realized that it was totally camouflaged into the swim suit 🙂

    I saw that polka dot skirt at Target too! but I already have one that’s similar, though not the same shape. I couldn’t justify buying something that looked ALMOST identical, so I passed. Otherwise I would have snatched it up ASAP! Super cute styling 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I ended up not even wearing my suit! We didn’t have time to get to the beach/pool so it just sat in my suitcase….but at least I have it for next time I go to a pool or beach.

      Didn’t even THINK about the fact that my phone is polka dotted just like that fabric(though it’s black/white not navy white)…that’s too funny.

  4. heidi says:

    first off, your bathing suit is awesome! i think it’s amazing that you made that yourself, but i’ve come not to expect any less from you!! 🙂 and the polka dot skirt & floral cardigan is seriously such an amazing combination, i don’t know if i would have paired those two items together but after seeing it on you, i love it and think it totally goes!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      You are too kind! I had actually picked out a different blouse/cardigan combo to wear with that skirt(light blue blouse and red cardigan…probably what everyone would reach for the first time around) but then I saw this cardigan hanging in my closet and I just decided to go for it!

Leave a Reply

