All That Glitters is Not Gold

Today is a very special day: It is my sister’s 26th Birthday!!  I’m kind of a bad sister though….I made her a really cute gift 1.5 weeks ago…..but I have yet to wrap it or mail it.  Soooo…she won’t be getting her gift from me for a few days yet.

I hope that she has a really fantastic birthday!  Head over to her blog and wish her a happy birthday!!

It is now mustard skirt outfit of the week time.  I decided to think a little outside the box and combine my mustard skirt with greys and silvers as well as a few touches of gold.  Basically, I went with a gold/silver palette and I’m really happy with how it turned out.

I’ve got a weird claw hand situation happening in this picture, so be warned.  Also, I guess my tights are discombobulated on my right foot so you can see the food pad of my tights on the top of my foot.

gold (1 of 1)

{Sweater: Banana Republic, Skirt: Made by Me, Belt: Loft, Tights: Tuesday Morning, Shoes: Urbanog.com, Necklace: Target}

And just for fun, the skirt with my petticoat underneath:

gold-2 (1 of 1)

Petticoats make everything more fun!

-Tamara

10 thoughts on “All That Glitters is Not Gold

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you so much! My style has definitely grown/improved from blogging and I kind of call it a modern vintage look. It’s just what I’m drawn to and what I think is most flattering on my body.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I have all these ideas of wearing this skirt with all sorts of different colors that you would typically wear mustard with….but then I decided I should do something slightly less predictable. It’s also entirely possible that I was influenced by something I saw on pinterest.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I definitely like the vintage aesthetic. I love feminine details and good tailoring. I know I’ve done well with a vintage outfit when my grandparents comment on it. I try to keep it from looking too costumey though. I do appreciate and admire those who go full tilt with the vintage look(victory rolls and all), but for me, I like to mix vintage style pieces with modern cuts and styles.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you! Unfortunately they are a cheap and not real leather so the coating or whatever is chipping off in a few places. I will have to replace them eventually which is sad because they are one of my favorite pairs!

  1. dragonfly1121 says:

    I thought of you on Sunday. I was in Victoria’s Secret and the woman in front of me in the line had a purse the same color as your skirt! You’re such a trendsetter 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Wow, that is really flattering that you thought of me! Thank you so much. I wish I could say I was the originator, but really, my sister had a mustard purse for ages before I even really got into mustard. I’m a little slow on the uptake of trends, but it works out for me all right because I live in an area that is way behind the times fashion-wise so I generally look pretty spot on.

Leave a Reply

