The January Dress

It’s only a month(plus a few days) late, but today I am finally debuting the “January” Dress.  If you’re new to the blog, one of my “New Year’s Resolutions” was a dress-making challenge, wherein I planned to make at least 1 dress/month for the entire year.

I wore my February dress(a pink and red confection) on Valentines Day, but it’s taken me ages and ages to finish my January dress because of the lace detaling which had to be painstakingly sewed on by hand.

My original plan for this dress was to wear it out on my hubby’s birthday.  I had planned to make him a fedora hat out of the same fabric which I would give to him as his present.  But then we decided to stay in and not go out, the hat I made him didn’t turn out(it was too small, now I’m re-making it a little bigger) and I just didn’t have time to finish this dress.

But, now it’s finally done.

The fabric is a silk/wool blend that I got from fabric.com for only $4.99/yard!  The lace trim is from Gorgeous Fabrics and it was a little more expensive at $16/yard, but so worth it I think.

Here’s the dress as-is:

january (1 of 1)

Cute, but I thought it would look even better with a petticoat, so here it is with a petticoat I made:

january2 (1 of 1)

As you may have surmised from the fact that I am wearing tights: it’s cold today!  Too cold for bare arms, so I added a cardigan and tried two different versions:

Cardigan Un-buttoned and bow belt underneath:
january3 (1 of 1)

And cardigan buttoned-up with bow belt on top(excuse my weird hand gesture that’s happening…as well as my roots.  I guess it’s time to color my hair again!).

january4 (1 of 1)

{Dress/Belt/Petticoat: Made by Me, Cardigan: WHBM, Tights: Kohls or Tuesday Morning, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini, Necklaces: F21}

The dress is of course lined(with a double knit cream fabric) and has pockets(pockets are a must!).  The petticoat is made with those 6″ wide spools of tulle you can get at Wal-mart, ribbon, elastic and black fabric.  I’ll get a tutorial up here eventually and you’ll be able to make your own for less than $15.

How was your weekend?  I spent nearly the whole weekend in my sewing room working on the car seat cover I’m making for my nephew.  The good news is that it’s looking fantastic.  Hubby thinks I need to make up business cards for my SIL to hand out to people who are interested in having a custom car seat cover made for themselves.  The bad news(though not really bad per say, just frustrating) is that my sewing machine doesn’t do well with heavy duty stitching so there were some pretty major melt-downs.  It almost went flying out the window a few times.

On Saturday morning I met my parents at Forsyth Park for some running and then we went to the farmers market and out to breakfast.  I also did the requesit weekend chores(cleaning, groceries, food prep, laundry) as well as give Lili a hair cut and clean out my car in anticipation of our trip this weekend.

I live an exciting life….what can I say? 😉

-Tamara

 

11 thoughts on “The January Dress

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I made the belt after drooling over one at White House Black Market(that was $50 which is way more than I wanted to spend). The back is actually elastic so that if I eat a big meal or gain weight or whatever, it still fits!

      • guitargrl325 says:

        Then I am very glad I made it! I actually need to take it in a bit as it’s too big(I’ve lost a few pounds while doing the Whole30 diet). I sewed on clips to keep it attached at the back, but then this past weekend I had to buy a snap adding tool for a project I’m making for my nephew, so I might add snaps on it to make it even more secure.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I did indeed make it. I’ve really gotten into sewing in the past 1.5 years and now I pretty much live in my sewing room making various different articles of clothing and accessories.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      You get a high five for the use of beauteous. That’s totally something my sister and I would say. I’m really glad you like the dress. Whenever I’m sewing anything, there is always a time where it’s just not looking that great and I”m thinking this is going to be a fail. Honestly, on my dress form this dress looks a little…blah, but it definitely looks better on a person!

Leave a Reply

