Twice as Nice

If you thought that I was exaggerating when I said I would likely be wearing this mustard skirt at least once a week for the next many weeks, you were wrong!! I’m going to be getting as much wear out of this skirt as I possibly can.

In addition to my DIY mustard skirt, I’m also wearing the gingham blouse I made last summer, so it’s a double DIY day!  I wanted to have a little fun with my outfit so I paired the gingham with a polka dot sweater I picked up at Target(with a gift card, just FYI).  I adore this sweater and you’ll likely be seeing lots of it as well.

twice3 (1 of 1)

{Blouse/Skirt: Made by Me, Sweater/Necklace: Target, Tights: Tuesday Morning, Shoes: Urbanog.com}

My only complaint about this outfit is that the top(s) don’t stay nicely tucked into the skirt and tend to bunch out a bit around the waist(which you can see a bit in the above picture), so I tried the more casual approach of leaving the shirts untucked…..and while I think the shirts look better, it’s a little less flattering because it makes me look much larger or that I don’t have a waist.

twice4 (1 of 1)

I took the photos tonight after work…because the ones from the morning were awful(not that these are that great, but they’re the best of the worst)….so if I look a little strained it’s because I had an insanely busy day.  I saw more patients today than I think I’ve ever seen before.  I basically dropped my purse off in my office at the beginning of the day and then came back for it at lunch, and same thing in the afternoon(ie, no sitting in the office waiting between patients).   But it made the day go by really quickly!

Anyone have exciting weekend plans?  Hubby and I had planned to actually leave the house and see a play tonight, but I’m thinking I want to just stay in and relax after my crazy day.  Plus, my throat just randomly started hurting.

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Twice as Nice

  1. lushlili says:

    I definitely liked the top tucked in. It does make your waist look smaller but I always liked those high waisted looks. Mustard is such a lovely colour to wear too

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Yeah, I agree about the tucked in look. I just wish I could find a way to keep my shirts from bunching up above the waist band.

Leave a Reply

