THE Mustard Skirt

I feel like this post should be accompanied by a sound clip of trumpets heralding a song of triumph.  I have had a mustard skirt on my list of clothing wants for probably as long as I’ve had this blog.  I’ve searched tons of clothing stores for a ready made one, as well as tons of fabric stores for fabric to make my own.  Obviously, until recently I was unsuccessful.

mustardskirt.jpg (1 of 1)

My skirt actually came from the most unlikely of places.  My hubby’s aunt and uncle sent us a box of fabrics they had collected in their travels around the world over the past 30+ years for a Christmas gift.  In said box was a piece(maybe 1.5 yards worth) of a golden yellow mustard silk-like fabric.  I squealed with delight when I saw it.  It was seriously a re-do of Christmas’s of my youth when I got that amazing toy I had been wanting for ages and ages.

I sort of put off working on the skirt for the past month or so because…I have no reason.  Other than I was spending most of my free time getting my work room set up as well as working on my dress challenge(and more on that in a moment).  This past weekend I finally said, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, just make the dang skirt already.

My original idea was to make it a pleated skirt(like the Kate Skirt), but after I got it attached to the waistband I realized this fabric is way too drapey to hold pleats properly.  So, I unpicked the stiches  and made it a dirndl instead.  I am really happy with the way this skirt turned out.  I attached the lining in such a way that you don’t see any stitching or raw edges on this inside(all professional like and stuff!)

mustardskirt2 (1 of 1)

Whenever I have an inspiration for an outfit, I write it down so that later on, if I’m standing in my closet at a loss for what to wear, I can consult my outfit ideas list.  Well, I have TONS Of outfit ideas featuring a mustard skirt…..so get used to seeing this thing at least once a week for the next many number of weeks.  I’m seriously considering starting Mustard Skirt Mondays with me wearing this skirt every Monday with a different top.  Yup, that’s how much I am in love with it.

mustardskirt6 (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Goodwill(originally WHBM), Sweater: Loft, Necklace/Shoes: Target, Skirt: Made by Me}

Some of you may be thinking, wait one hot minute here….she made up this big deal about doing a challenge where she’d make one dress a month…well, we’ve seen the February dress but still haven’t gotten any views of the January dress.  Okay, here’s the deal.  The January dress has been done for weeks now. At least the actual dress portion of it.  I’m adding a lace trim to the bottom of the skirt that is taking forever to sew on because it must be hand-stitched and I only have(make) time to work on it for a few minutes every evening.  It’s getting closer and closer to being done though.  And I promise it will be worth the wait.

Heres’ a lil’ preview:

IMG_2005

I’ve got big plans for this weekend!  I’m going to attempt a huge sewing project for my nephew.  When my niece was born, I bought her a really adorable leopard and pink car seat slip cover that my SIL and BIL LOVE because it meant when she made messes, they could just throw it in the was without having to scrub the car seat clean(plus it looked adorable).  I didn’t like any of the boy version ones readily available so my SIL is sending me my neice’s and I’m going to use it to make a pattern and construct my own.  My BIL is a car guy and he loves Porsche’s, so it will have some elements of cars and racing(think racing stripes, Porsche logo and checkered fabric).  I’m really excited to try this and I hope it turns out!

-Tamara

3 thoughts on “THE Mustard Skirt

  1. heidi says:

    so lovely! you do such a good job with all of your projects, it’s so inspiring. i love the color and shape of the skirt, it’s just perfect!

Leave a Reply

