Grown Up

After yesterdays kiddie confection dress, it was definitely time for a more grown up look.  Funnily enough, I am wearing yet another self made piece today.  That’s the third time this week!  I guess as I continue to expand my collection of hand-made garments, this will start becoming more and more common place.

Ever since I wore this skirt on Christmas Day, I’ve been itching to wear it again.  I couldn’t wear it in January due to my re-make theme so I am excited to finally wear it again.  I decided to keep it simple and classy with a white button-down and pearls.  But to keep it from looking too grandma-ish(no offense to grandma’s out there) and more modern, I am wearing my ruffle neck button-down and my pearls with a gigantic flower.

grownup1 (1 of 1)

I also tried it with a petticoat I made a few weeks ago(that still needs some tweaking as it’s not full enough yet).

grownup2 (1 of 1)

{Skirt: Made by Me, Blouse: Banana Republic, Necklace: Tuesday Morning, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini}

I attempted a nude/natural lip this morning.  At least for me, nude lips are way more difficult to pull off than red lips.  I like them on other people, but typically those people have much darker skin than I do.  I think the secret to nude lips with pale skin is to choose a light pink color, NOT a brownish taupe nude.  Those brownish/true nude colors make me look like death.  Additionally, I think you must use a shiny lip gloss so that your lips look different in texture than your surrounding skin.

I think that nude lips also look much better in person(at least I’m hoping they do) than they seem to in my pictures.  Do you do the nude lip thing?  Any secret tips or tricks to ensure you don’t end up looking like the crypt keeper?

See ya on Monday(which is NOT a holiday for me.  I have a completely booked schedule actually!!).

-Tamara

6 thoughts on “Grown Up

  1. Kelly O says:

    I am also quite pale, and a dark strawberry blonde. I struggle with nude lips, because they look so pretty on everyone else. I went to Sephora and got a little help picking out a couple of good colors. I’ve also found it helps to line my lips with a pale something as close to my natural lip as I can get.

    By the way, you’re inspiring me to pull out my sewing machine and start playing around. Thanks for that!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That is so awesome that you’re playing around with sewing. That’s basically how it started for me. I took home ec in jr. high(like 20 years ago…haha) and then I remember sewing some pj bottoms for a boyfriend in HS, but that was it till last Christmas when my grandma gave me an old sewing machine left over after a church garage sale. I started making my sister a faux fur scarf and the dang thing broke so my hubby bought me a new one(from walmart, so nothing fancy). I started off small and realized I freaking love sewing and now I have an entire room of my house devoted to sewing!!

      What are some of your favorite nudes that you’ve found at Sephora? My sister gave me a gift card to Sephora for taking some pictures of her and her hubby and I haven’t yet decided what to do with it. I’ve heard that YSL has an amazing nude lipstick that everyone raves about, but I haven’t even taken the time to go to Sephora to look yet.

  2. Heather Beth Mackintosh Blanarik says:

    Hi Tamara! Love the skirt. The plaid is fabulous.
    I also struggled finding a nude lip color for my fair skin. I have dark brown hair, fair skin and blue eyes. And I agree with you, to get the same look and feel, I have gone to a pink nuetral for my nude lip. Some of my favorites are Buxom’s vienna color, bare esscentials bavarian cream, Loreal’s pink plush (169) and Revlon’s cupcake (055). I have also found that I need a blue based pink for my skin tone versus a peach base.
    Good luck in finding the nude for you!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I was visiting the website Gorgeous Fabrics looking for a different fabric and I kept being drawn to that plaid fabric. I finally just had to break down and order it(it was rather pricey at $16/yard because it’s silk). It was totally worth it though. It’s great to purchase inexpensive fabrics for the most part, but sometimes it’s really fun to buy some nice quality(not made in china) fabric. I have a few yards of silk fabric from Mood Fabrics(the one they use on Project Runway!) that I can’t wait to use to make a dress.

      I’m going to go to Ulta at some point in the near future and try on all the colors you mentioned to see if any of them will work for me….THANKS!!!!

  3. kimmie says:

    I once bought some nude lipstick after reading some reviews on makeupalley and swatches on makeup blogs, and I put it on, and it seriously made me look like a corpse because it had blue undertones. It was so bad.

    I’m not a lipstick person at all, reds scare me and nudes are no good, so…. yeah. Maybe one day.

    Love this skirt!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      True nudes make me look like a corpse…I’ve purchased a couple from the drug store thinking they’d work…ummm…yeah, not so much. I definitely need something with reddish/pink undertones!

Leave a Reply

