Versatile

Continuing with the Valentine’s Day themed outfits, today’s look is what I had originally planned to wear on Valentine’s Day.  In my original dress plan, I was going to make a fancy red dress to wear on a special V-Day date with my hubby and wear this outfit to work that day.

However, the red fabric I ordered was….not very nice(I’m using it for trim on the pink dress I am making).  Additionally, we had decided to stay in for the night to save some money as well as stick to our Whole30 diet(we’re having filet mingon with mushrooms and onions, italian salad and baked apples).

Sooo….I decided I still wanted to make a Valentines-inspired dress, which led me to make the pink/red confection that is in my sewing room right now.  The pink fabric was some shantung satin I had purchased at Wal-Mart months ago and had forgotten what it was supposed to be used for.

Long story longer, I decided to wear this outfit today since  more than likely I’ll be wearing my new dress tomorrow.  The skirt I’m wearing is one of my homemade creations(The Red Striped Kate Skirt) and I realized just this morning how versatile this skirt is for holiday dressing!  I wore it with green during the Christmas Holidays, pink for Valentines day and if I want, I’ll be able to wear it with blue for Independence Day.

versatile (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Express, Cardigan: Limited, Necklace: WHBM, Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes: Cato}

I decided on my Valentines Day present from the hubby.  As much as I wanted that bracelet, the practical side of me won out and I got myself a new case for my Ipad as well as two different drawing styli.  Now that doesn’t mean I won’t stalk the Kate Spade website waiting for that bracelet to go on sale(after all, my b-day is next month!).

Have a great day!

-Tamara

8 thoughts on “Versatile

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Not really. I started sewing(after learning basics in 7th grade home-ec) at the end of 2011, and I came up with the construction of this skirt over the spring/summer last year. This is the third version of this particular skirt. If you want, I have posted a tutorial on it here: https://ordinaryfashionista.wordpress.com/2012/07/03/the-kate-skirt-tutorial/

      The red/white stripe one is my favorite because it holds it’s shape the best and the pleats stay the most crisp(plus it doesn’t get very wrinkled…haha). The fabric is actually a cotton duck which is technically an outdoor fabric, but who cares? I got it from Fabric.com(and while they don’t have this particular one in stock right now I saw tons of cute fabric I’d love to make skirts with).

      If you were to follow my tutorial and make your own, then send me pictures!!! I’d love to see it.

  1. Bits of Mimi says:

    It really doesn’t look like an outdoor fabric, it looks more like high quality material. Oh man, I would attempt to try making it myself, but I already know that’s a disaster in the making haha. But maybe I’ll try some time in the Spring. Thanks again. ^^

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Hahah, yeah, it’s a bit of a risk ordering fabrics(particularly outdoor fabrics) online but the prices are generally so good that it makes it worth the risk, plus fabric.com has a great return policy(not that i’ve ever actually returned anything. I”m really bad about returning stuff. I hate doing it so most of the time I’m like eh, I’ll just take the loss and keep the item).

  2. Erin @ Sassin' Southern Style says:

    I came over here to say that I love that you chimed in on Kate’s waterline post and I might be a little bit more than stunned that you line your waterline with a gel liner. How scandalous of you! I am extremely thankful for your “greater risk of infection below the lower lashes” tidbit, though. That’s a handy clinical pearl for non-eyeball-lovers such as myself.

    Oh, and this outfit is adorable. 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Awesome! Glad to know I helped someone out. Mac’s fluidline seems to be the best water-liner I’ve ever found. It stays all day for me. My sister and I both wore it at her wedding and we had no smudges!

      I saw on your blog you were raised in GA and moved to FL for school….I went to school in FL(Nova) and now live in GA(Savannah to be precise). Do you go to UF?

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks!! I can’t take total credit for the idea of pairing light pink with the red/white stripes. I definitely have something very similar pinned on pinterest.

Leave a Reply

