Blush and Bashful

Can anyone name the movie from which this post name came?

I’m sure you are all well versed in the phrase, “Pride goeth before a fall”(which is from Proverbs 16:18 in case you always wondered).  Well, last night I was trucking along on my valentines day dress.  Dinner had been made and consumed, the kitchen was clean.  I was looking forward to 1.5-2 solid hours of sewing while hubby studied.  I figured I could get the skirt/lining completely finished and possibly even attached to the bodice.  I would be soooo ahead and needing only to hem the sleeves and insert the zipper either today or tomorrow.

While in the middle of ironing up the hem on the lining, the power went out.  It came back on after a few seconds….then it went off for good.  It eventually came back on about 45 minutes later, but by then, I was already in bed drawing away on my ipad. Speaking of ipad’s+drawing, I have had an ipad for almost 2 years and I just recently realized I can use it as  sketch pad!  DUH!!!  Well, I always “knew” you could use it for drawing, but I assumed the apps were limited and would resemble something like Paint(windows) or Paintbrush(mac).  I had no idea what was out there till just a few days ago.

From my earliest memories as a little girl, up through undergrad, I used to carry around a sketch pad and draw all.the.time.  In elementary school, I would draw out “stories”(ie, make up stories as I was drawing).  I took art in HS so I always had access to sketchbooks and artists journals.  I’m not really sure when I abandoned my love of drawing, but it was definitely before I met my husband(or shortly thereafter) because he had no idea I love to draw(though he knows I used to paint)

I’ve spent the past two nights staying up WAY too late drawing on my Ipad.  I’m using a crappy fat stylus and/or my fingers, so now I’m on the hunt for a good drawing stylus.  I’ve researched a few and I have some ideas, but if any readers have any recommendations, I’d love to hear them in the comments!

Just for fun, here’s the drawing I’ve been working on.  It’s a sketch of the dress I’m making for Valentines Day.  It’s quite rough as I am just learning how to use the drawing program(I’m using ArtStudio and I love it so far) and I don’t have a proper stylus.

drawing

Okay, enough blathering on, let’s get to today’s outfit.  Continuing with the Valentines day theme, I’ve paired a few shades of pink together with a grey sweater to tone down the barbie aspect of my outfit.

blushandbashful (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Ann Taylor Factory, Skirt: WHBM, Sweater: Loft, Necklace: F21, Shoes: Ross}

-Tamara

4 thoughts on “Blush and Bashful

Leave a Reply

