Spots and Stripes

Most of the time I choose my outfits based strictly on style or a particular color I want to wear that day.  Other times, I chose them because I want to be comfortable.  Today is one of those days.  It’s Friday, it’s still overcast/raining, I’m tired and I knew I was going to have a full day of patients.

I picked a skirt that is a size too big(and therefore super comfortable) but not so big that it’s noticeably big and went from there.  The outfit actually turned out quite nice and it definitely doesn’t look like my goal was to be comfortable.  I did change out the pumps for my gold sequin flats for work though.

spotsandstripes1 (1 of 1)

{Blouse/Cardigan/Flower: WHBM, Skirt: Goodwill(originally Banana Republic), Tights: Kohls, Shoes: Ross, Necklace: Target}

In life news, hubby and I are embarking on a little experiment starting next week.  Currently, we already follow a paleo/primal-ish diet but we do allow some sugars(honey, maple syrup), potatoes and dairy(cream, sour cream and cheese) in our meals.  Since dropping grains/beans we have seen a major improvement in our sleep, our digestive systems and our skin.  However, hubby still has some lingering sleep issues and I’m not going to lie, the Christmas/NYE/B-Day/Superbowl indulgences have left me with a few more pounds than I’d like to have.  Therefore, just to see what the hype is all about, we are going full paleo for the next 4 weeks. Also known as the Whole30.  But for us, it won’t be a complete 30 days(more like 28) because we are heading to Florida on March 7 to visit family(and it will be impossible to even truly eat primal let alone Whole30 while on a trip to visit hubby’s family).

I SERIOUSLY doubt we will continue this after the initial experiment because we both adore cheese and white potatoes….BUT, if it ends up helping hubby with his sleep disorder I might change my tune.  We both figure that it can’t hurt and might even help, so why not give it a try and see what happens?

I’m putting together a meal plan for the whole month just so that I know exactly what I’ll be fixing and when.  If anyone is interested, I might post it for you reference as well.

Anyways, I hope you have a great weekend!

-Tamara

One thought on “Spots and Stripes

  1. Naomi Elf says:

    I didn’t realize that paleo helped sleep. What does your husband have? Mine has a variety of conditions and wears a CPAP to sleep with only 25% improvement. If it’s too personal for public comments,I’d love to hear from you via email about what has worked for both of you. I don’t know the connection between grains and sleep, but anything is worth trying out right now. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

