Fashion Re-do #19

**For the entire month of January, I’m going to be  re-doing outfits I’ve previously worn that just didn’t really work.  I’ll be sticking with the main theme of the outfit fail, but trying new pieces or combinations to take a failed outfit into a favorite outfit.**

We’re almost to the end of the month and the end of the challenge!  Just today and tomorrow and then I’ll be back to posting regular(i.e., not re-dos) outfits.  This challenge has been really fun, but I am definitely excited to have full access to my closet once again.

If you are feeling that old familiar “I have nothing to wear” feeling, one way to revive your interest in your wardrobe without buying new clothes is to limit your access to said wardrobe for a period of time.  I definitely can’t wait to start wearing all my clothes and not being limited to doing re-makes.  So, try one of those 30×30 challenges, or commit to only wearing certain color combos or pieces(only pants or only skirts for 2 weeks to a month).  At the end, you will have gained a much greater appreciation of your own clothes without spending a dime!

Okay, so for today’s re-do, I chose another cringe worthy original.  Conceptually, the outfit was great….at least the color combination was great.  Fleshed out, it was a huge fail.

The main problem I have with the original is that danged blue blouse.  I love the neckline with all the ruffles.  I LOATHE the gathered elastic waist.  It really limits how you can wear the blouse.  You can’t tuck the blouse in without a sweater over it, because the gathers will be right above the waist of your skirt/pants and look really crappy….and I don’t like the length of said blouse when it is untucked.

Also, I was clearly having a bad hair day in the picture.

crazycolorcombo

I thought that maybe I could remove the elastic and relax the gathers….but the shirt is a sheer chiffon and removing the elastic threads left huge holes….so…..no go on that!

For the re-do, I kept with the same color theme: cobalt, green and yellow, but used different pieces and what a difference it makes.  I always know if I’ve put together a winner by how my staff at work reacts.  They’ve all been complimenting my outfit today.

redo#19-1 (1 of 1)

{Blouse/Tank/Shoes/Necklace: Target, Skirt/Belt: Limited}

This outfit definitely gives off a spring vibe, which totally works today since the temp will reach nearly 80 this afternoon and we’re running the ac at work.  A cold front is coming in tonight though….looks like it’ll be in the 30s when I run my 10k on Saturday!  I don’t mind that at all.  I’d rather be cold than hot…hopefully it’ll make me run faster!

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

