Fashion Re-Do #17

**For the entire month of January, I’m going to be  re-doing outfits I’ve previously worn that just didn’t really work.  I’ll be sticking with the main theme of the outfit fail, but trying new pieces or combinations to take a failed outfit into a favorite outfit.**

After a few days of re-doing looks that were okay, but just needed some minor improvements and some better styling, let’s move onto another cringe-worthy look.

The original look was part of my Black and White Theme week.  I had found the skirt at Goodwill and had purchased it even though it was about 3 sizes to big because I liked it, it had the original tags on it saying that it had cost $98 at one time and I figured I could easily take it in and make it my size.  Before I took the time to take it in, I decided I could make it work by belting it to take in the looseness around the waist.

It definitely didn’t work….it just looked really awkward.  Then I made it worse by pairing it with a black blouse I had picked up on final sale clearance at Burlington Coat Factory that just did not fit at all(it’s been sent to goodwill now).  Also, the dead eyes look I’m sporting is kind of creepy.  Don’t know what that was about.

blackwhiteday43-1-of-1

So, for the re-do, I actually took the time to take the skirt in(which makes it fit and looks SO much better) and paired it with a much better top.  The only negative about my re-do look is that the tights that look black in person are showing up grey in the photos so they look rather out of place.

redo#17-2 (1 of 1)

{Sweater: Loft, Skirt: Goodwill(originally Banana Republic), Bracelet/Tights/Headband: Gift, Shoes: Ross}

redo17collageSunday is the hubby’s 30th birthday(as I’ve mentioned before), and so we are celebrating with my parents tomorrow night at our house.  I’ll be making steaks, a salad copied from the Olde Pink House(greens, fried green tomatoes, bacon and peppercorn ranch), french fries and for dessert….raspberry filled chocolate cupcakes with cream cheese icing(gluten free of course).  I’ll be doing a special guest post on the cupcakes over at my sister’s blog Creations From The Hart at some point next week….stay tuned for that!!

Have a great Friday!

-Tamara

5 thoughts on “Fashion Re-Do #17

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks!!! I’m surprised the skirt turned out as well as it did, considering I took it in minutes before taking this photo, and didn’t even use white thread(my sewing machine was already loaded with a pale oat colored thread from another project).

      The fried green tomatoes turned out really well. Since we eat a wheat free diet, I did use almond flour instead of regular flour, but I fried them in bacon grease so they were extra awesome 😉

  1. heidi says:

    that skirts looks even more amazing now with the alterations you did! i hope you’re having a great weekend and your husband had a wonderful birthday!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      He had a fantastic weekend, despite having to work both Saturday and Sunday. I tried to make it up by having really fun evening events planned(dinner with my folks on Sat and going to see our favorite local singer on Sunday with his work friends) and he definitely enjoyed himself(as did I!).

      I need to get better about re-fashioning/up-cycling goodwill clothes…When I first got into thrifting(about 8 months ago now I believe), I tried to do some upcycles and had a series of huge failures so I’ve been kind of gun-shy with up-cycles, but it really can make a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

