Fashion Re-do #15

**For the entire month of January, I’m going to be  re-doing outfits I’ve previously worn that just didn’t really work.  I’ll be sticking with the main theme of the outfit fail, but trying new pieces or combinations to take a failed outfit into a favorite outfit.**

My intent with the original outfit was to combine teal and leopard, and while I did it….it just didn’t work somehow.  It wasn’t a bad look per se, it just wasn’t a good one either.  I thought it looked too old for me or something as well.   I honestly think it was mostly my hair that was ruining this look.

leopardandteal-1-of-1

For the re-do, I really wanted to make sure that my outfit was young and hip. I puzzled over how to incorporate the main theme of the outfit, but make it better.  I considered pairing the cardigan and bubble necklace with a white button up, but I figured that would be way too similar to the way I styled my gingham shirt last week(see here).

I ended up taking inspiration from the manicure I had done on Sunday evening that incorporated stripes and leopard print by pairing my leopard cardigan with a black/white stripe pencil skirt(and keeping the teal necklace and shoes).

nails1

redo#15 (1 of 1)

{Cardigan: Gap, Cami: NY&co  , Skirt: Jc Penney, Shoes: Rackroom, Necklace: Ebay}

So my hubby loves fedora style hats, but he has an abnormally small head apparently as none of the ready to wear hats ever fit him.  His 30th birthday is this weekend, so earlier this month when I saw that Vogue had recently released a men’s hat pattern, I snapped it right up, along with the necessary fabrics/notions. I made the smallest size they had and it looked REALLY small….so I had him try it on…and unfortunately it was too small.  Now, I’m working on sizing the pattern up to try again.

It kinda sucks because I had this whole plan worked out….I had bought this beautiful silk/wool houndstooth fabric for the hat for practically nothing from fabric.com and had purchased enough to make myself a dress out of it as well(for the dress challenge).  I planned to wear the dress for his b-day dinner and then have him open the hat and see it matched my dress….but since it was so small, I had to have him try it beforehand.  I sincerely hope that going up 1 size in the pattern is enough!  I’m going to make a muslin of it this time so I don’t waste anymore of the nice fabric.

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

