Fashion Re-Do #10

**For the entire month of January, I’m going to be  re-doing outfits I’ve previously worn that just didn’t really work.  I’ll be sticking with the main theme of the outfit fail, but trying new pieces or combinations to take a failed outfit into a favorite outfit.**

Lest you think that I am only re-doing really old outfits because I’ve got this fashion thing all together and don’t really have failures anymore, I present to you today’s re-do.  The original was worn a mere 3 weeks ago.

ginghamandleopard1 (1 of 1)

I’ve noticed that in a lot(or maybe even all) of my re-dos, my hair and/or makeup is less than ideal and I think that definitely contributes to me thinking an outfit is a failure.

I almost had a hair failure today….I tried to curl my hair and comb through it to give it some volume….it was SCARY!!  I was able to tame it into a pseudo-side pony tail that looks cute and keeps my hair out of my face, but for a minute there I was thinking I’d have to put off taking my pictures for today because my hair was that bad.

redo10.jpg (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Made by me, Cardigan: Old Navy, “Skirt”(it’s actually a dress with the bodice tucked into the skirt portion): WHBM, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini, Rhinestone Necklace: Cato, Pearls: F21}

redocollage10

I’ve figured out why I dislike my hair at it’s current length……If I look at it as objective observer, then I think the cut and style is cute….However, on ME I don’t like it.  My hair is thick and neither curly nor straight with tons of cowlicks.  It takes a certain level of wrangling to get it looking decent.  When I was young, I had neither the tools nor the knowledge on how to manage my mane.  At the age of 10 or 11, I had my hair cut to a similar length that it is now, but without the aid of blowdryers and flat-irons making me look, in short, like a hot mess.  I was teased and bullied both for the color and the style of my hair during that time.  So now, when I look in the mirror I don’t see the 30 year old successful doctor with a cute and stylish cut staring back at me; I see a dorky, unfashionable, terrible haired little girl who just wants to be popular.

Anyone else out there have a particular hair “trauma” that keeps you from liking a particular cut or style on yourself?  I also hate myself in really, really short hair because when I was young and un-developed I had very short hair(probably right after I had the shoulder length bob thing) and people thought I was a BOY!   That is probably one of the reasons I’m so into makeup, fashion and hair!!

-Tamara

9 thoughts on “Fashion Re-Do #10

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks!! You can almost always tell if I really like an outfit I’m wearing by looking at the expression on my face. If I really like it, I typically look truly happy and pleased…if not, I’m usually forcing a smile!!

  1. thegreatzambini says:

    This is such a great idea! I love it! I also appreciate that you are taking wonderful pictures even though you don`t have a fancy background. I`m always a little scared to take pictures because I feel like don`t have enough tools in my bag of tricks, but yours turned out amazing, so maybe mine will too!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Awww…thanks….I often feel like my pictures are total crap when I compare them to the “big” name fashion bloggers who have their husbands or SO’sphotograph them in beautiful settings with perfect focus and lighting while i’m standing against a blank wall with my camera on a tripod and a remote in my hand….and then I realize I don’t really care that much because those amazing photo-shoots are never going to happen for me! I’m not trying to recreate a magazine setting or anything, just show the outfit I wore to work that day. Soo…long story short, I’m sure your pictures will be fine…and the more pictures you take, the better they will get. If you go back a year, you can see how really crappy my pictures were, and I hope that as time goes by, I’ll keep geting better and better.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Having the blog and posting my looks every day is what keeps me working on tweaking my look/appearance, I think. Before I blogged about my outfits(or even blogged consistently), I didn’t put near the effort into my outfits, hair or makeup. I’d throw on a black skirt, colored top and black cardigan without accessories, slap on some makeup and pull my hair into a ponytail or bun. Now, there is nothing wrong with that, but I always felt unsatisfied with myself. Taking daily pictures has “forced” me to look at how my outfits and makeup look and consequently has made me want to improve my “look”. In turn this has led me to feel more confident in myself and overall happier, which leads to me being more confident in my patient interactions. I look young for my age, so it definitely helps to exude confidence and self-worth.

      I do sometimes(often) think it’s so silly and vain to post my outfits, but then a friend or a reader tells me how much they love my blog and it is a source of enjoyment and inspiration for them that I feel re-motivated to keep on posting. I know I love to see other people’s outfits and looks they put together so why not have a dialogue of my own?

      I know that to a lot of people fashion/makeup seem trivial and vain, and maybe that’s partially true, but we don’t tell people they are vain when they fix up their house or plant flowers in their yard. I just like fashion and the more I get into it, the more I want to know and explore it.

      Anyways, I’m really glad you’re reading and I hope that you are finding a little inspiration for your outfits as well!

Leave a Reply

