Fashion Re-Do #9

**For the entire month of January, I’m going to be  re-doing outfits I’ve previously worn that just didn’t really work.  I’ll be sticking with the main theme of the outfit fail, but trying new pieces or combinations to take a failed outfit into a favorite outfit.**

If you’re new(ish) to the blog, you might not necessarily know that until this past September I had LONG hair.  In a fit of “I want change” I chopped it all to an angled bob, which I liked for about 1 day.  I immediately started bemoaning the loss of my long hair(first world problems, I know!), but I knew with time it would be long again.

It had grown quite a lot in the past 4 months but it was really starting to look shaggy, so I sucked it up and went in for a hair cut.  The stylist did the best he could to preserve some of the length, but in reality, most of the front had to be taken off to match up with the back(I knew this had to happen, but I was dreading it), so that it would grow out nicely……I do not like the length it is now, but it’s par for the course when you chop off all your hair.  In a few months it will be much longer and easier to deal with.

Note to self: don’t ever freaking chop your hair off again!

Okay, for today’s re-do, I chose a look that, similar to yesterday’s just seemed incomplete or lacking; like I just threw a few coordinating pieces together, there is not a cohesive look.

I’ve come to realize through this blog, that more often than not, tucking in your shirt makes an outfit look much more polished and coordinated.  This is definitely something new to me, because before this blog, I NEVER tucked in my shirts.  I am constantly amazed by what I think looks good in the mirror looks god-awful on camera(ie, the shoes I’m wearing in this pic:)

fairy-garden

 

For the re-do, I tucked in the shirt and put on a better fitting cardigan(I’m pretty sure I’m going to be adding that pink cardigan to the goodwill pile, those gathers on the front just make it so awkward to wear).  Definitely an improvement.

redo9-1.jpg (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Marshalls, Cardigan: Target, Skirt/Belt/Necklace: WHBM, Shoes: Cato}

redcollage9

I have not sewn a stitch in at least 2-3 weeks!  I can’t even believe myself….Hubby has homework to do tonight, so I’m hoping I can use that time to start working on his b-day gift project.  **Fingers crossed I can actually make this happen!**

It’s tax day…at least for those of us who have to file quarterly income statements.  Happily, this will be my last quarterly tax statement as I am now a full-time employee(as opposed to self-employed).  I kind of felt like saying a special poem or singing a song as I dropped that payment into the mailbox(not really though!)

-Tamara

4 thoughts on “Fashion Re-Do #9

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! If I am being objective, I can appreciate the hair cut and think it looks cute, but I see that length of hair on me and I can’t help but picture myself at 10 years old with a similar length(but not as good of a cut, nor the access to the proper styling tools) looking like crap!! haha….we women do have such issues surrounding our hair don’t we?

  1. heidi says:

    definitely a great example of a good “re do.” i like the outfit better with the shirt tucked in and i agree about the cardigan. you were spot on!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      One thing that blogging your outfits is great for, is to have a second look at the things you wear and realize what does and doesn’t work. It’s helping me to be more choosy in the things I buy and make sure they look good before I bring them home and wear them a bunch of times. I’m actually getting rid of several articles of clothing because of doing this challenge(and seeing how they don’t work in any of the looks I’ve put together) The other great thing about this “challenge”(and I”m going to speak more about this in a post) is that limiting yourself to having access to only part of your closet makes you really appreciate the rest of your closet!!

Leave a Reply

