Outfit Re-Do #7

**For the entire month of January, I’m going to be  re-doing outfits I’ve previously worn that just didn’t really work.  I’ll be sticking with the main theme of the outfit fail, but trying new pieces or combinations to take a failed outfit into a favorite outfit.*

I am quite excited about today’s re-do, because I feel as if I took a really awkwardly put together look and made it into a definite winner, using an article of clothing I would have never though would had worked….but it does!!

The original outfit was worn way back in 2011, and while it had potential, it was just awkward and not done well.

p1020972-e1320936322413

I really love the idea of this blue blouse.  However, it has one really big negative….around the waist is this shirred/gathered elastic band that makes it impossible to tuck in(without a pullover or cardigan covering up said band) and I don’t love the way it looks when it’s untucked and belted around the band…hence why I have the cardigan awkwardly buttoned in the picture above(as opposed to leaving it unbuttoned).

I played around with a few different pieces and tried to come up with a new way to style this blouse, but keep with the nude/red accessories and I was about to give up wishing I had a neutral colored pullover sweater, when I remembered a sweater my MIL had given me a few Christmas’s ago.  For some reason, I thought it gotten too small for me, so I had put it in a bag of clothing to “make over” or “upcycle”.  I really, really didn’t think it would work because:

a. it was too small right??  that’s why it had been tucked away for a year!

b. there was NO way it would work with the full ruffles of the blouse without making me look like I had some sort of growth on my abdomen!

c. it has a detailed neckline with a satin ribbon…surely that was too much going on….

But, I figured what the heck….if it was awful, at least I tried!  Well, imagine my surprise and delight that not only did the sweater fit perfectly, it looked awesome and turned what had been a really awkward outfit into a definite favorite!

redo7-3.jpg (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Saks Off Fifth, Sweater/Skirt: WHBM, Bracelet: Ann Taylor, Shoes: Cato}

redo7collage

Any super fun and/or exciting plans for the weekend?  I am looking forward/dreading a deep scrub/organization of the house!  Looking forward to having it done, dreading having to do it.  I also hope to get in quite a bit of sewing and staining/polyurethane-ing my work station, as well as cooking and grocery shopping….it’s going to be a busy weekend for me, that’s for sure!  Oh, and driving into SC to look at some upholstery fabric to re-cover the seat of a chair I bought at GW for $7.99

Enjoy your weekend!!

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Outfit Re-Do #7

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! My hair was actually red(same as it is now) with some blonde hi-lights, but a crappy camera and bad lighting combined to make a good/new hair color! hahaha!

      I think this is what is great about the fashion blogging community…we all have different tastes and ideas of what looks good, and an outfit I might think looks crappy is something someone else really likes. I know that I’ve read other bloggers mention they don’t like a particular outfit when I think it looks really great on them!

Leave a Reply

