Outfit Re-do #5

**For the entire month of January, I’m going to be  re-doing outfits I’ve previously worn that just didn’t really work.  I’ll be sticking with the main theme of the outfit fail, but trying new pieces or combinations to take a failed outfit into a favorite outfit.**

I am kind of cheating with today’s look.  The original look was posted during my Black and White theme week using color as an accessory , but for my re-creation I’m adding in another layer of color.  It’s my blog, so I’ll do what I want :-p

The reasons I think the original is “off” are

1. My hair is not looking so hot.  I am a natural red head, but as I’ve gotten older, my hair has gotten browner and less vibrant, so I do color it to bring it back to it’s former glory….clearly I was in desperate need of a coloring in this pic!

2. The skirt is too baggy(it’s a pencil skirt about 4 sizes too big for me that I thrifted from Goodwill, that I thought I could wear as an A-Line skirt, but these pictures demonstrate I definitely need to take it in!)

3. It’s a little too plain….somehow it seems like it’s missing something.

4. I’m not wearing a headband!! What was I thinking? That’s like my signature look!  One time I wasn’t wearing a headband and a frame rep commented on it, asking where it was.  He calls me the doctor with the flower in her hair….in fact, this same rep saw me at a convention once and got my attention from across the room by calling me by that very nickname!

bwday12-1-of-1

For the re-do, I added a skirt that actually fits me, have fairly recently colored hair WITH a headband, and added another layer over the shirt…of all which combines to make a much better look.

redo5-1.jpg (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Made by Me, Skirt: JC Penney, Sweater: Express, Shoes: Rack Room, Necklace: Ebay, Headband: Cato}

My bangs are out of control….but I am in luck.  Just this morning I was considering going to get them trimmed at lunch time(since I can’t seem to make the time to do it myself), but when I arrived at work, I saw that one of our part-time employees(who used to be a hair dresser!!) is working. I’m going to have her trim my bangs at the end of the day!  I can’t wait!!!

redocollage5

Our crab cones last night did the trick!  Both hubby and I are feeling a lot more cheerful today.

My cutting table/work station is coming right along.  Last night we screwed the two cabinets together and attached bead board to one side to give it interest(as well as cover up the fact that it’s made of two base cabinets stuck together!) and tonight we’ll do the other side!  Then the base will be done and waiting for the wood top(which I will start staining tonight as well).  I need to get my sewing room set up ASAP so I can, you know, start sewing(again)…haha…I have to make my January dress(for the 12 months of dresses challenge)as well as a birthday gift for hubby.

I’m working on a post that will detail all the projects I made as Christmas gifts this year, but it’s been really busy at work(which is usually when I work on the blog; between patients) so I haven’t had time…not that I’m complaining about being busy at work..that’s a very GOOD thing!

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

