Christmas Celebrations

Merry Christmas(one day late) Everyone!  I hope you enjoyed your holiday.  Mine was fantastic.  I enjoy anytime I can get together with friends and family, but add in gifts, lights and Christmas music and it just makes everything that much more awesome!!

I actually had FOUR days off in a row and I needed it to accomplish everything.  The hubby, my parents and I went to church on Friday night(not a normal occurrence as we usually go Sat. night but since they offered it on Friday this past week, we decided to take advantage of it), then to the grocery store for food supplies(which was not as bad as I anticipated).

I spent the day Saturday working on some sewing, wrapping of gifts and laundry while hubby was at work.  We went over to my parents house for a grill out with my sister and her husband that night, then sat around the fire pit in my parents back yard enjoying each other’s company.

On Sunday I spent the morning doing some food prep then put the finishing touches on my taffeta skirt to wear on Christmas Day.  I actually did make the tutu skirt I had written about but it doesn’t look good at all.  It looks hideous actually(totally unwearable). I actually made it two different ways and both were big giant failures(in different ways though, so there’s that!)

Anyways, on Sunday afternoon, I headed over to my parents house again because my sister wanted me to take some picture of her and her husband for their one year anniversary.  I did her hair and makeup, then we headed over to the chapel were they got married to take the photos.

Here’s a preview shot:

kisses (1 of 1)Clearly demonstrating that even a blind bird gets a worm(referring to my compete lack of photographic talent yet getting a few really good shots).

Sunday night was spent ironing clothes and setting up the house(hubby had shampooed the carpets earlier in the week so we had to move all the furniture back into place). Super fun times let me tell ya!

Monday morning dawned bright and early(about 5am I think), and I immediately got to work prepping the salads that we were going to eat that night for dinner, as well as a few other kitchen chores.  I then moved on to cleaning the house and washing all the sheets/blankets/ect.  I finished up around 12 and decided I wanted to go get a mani/pedi as a “reward” for working so hard!  I was inspired by a manicure I had seen on Cupcakes and Cashmere, and my manicurist was able to replicate it perfectly.

nails

Hubby arrived home from work at about 2:30 and we had just enough time to quickly get ready then head back out for our church’s Christmas Eve Service.

Over the weekend, I had picked up a  green silk blouse from Talbots for $15 and I knew I wanted to wear it on Christmas Eve.  I had envisioned pairing it with a full black taffeta skirt, which I do not own.  A lightbulb went off in my head when I remembered a dress I had picked up at WHBM last year on final clearance.  It has a white bodice with a ruffle neckline and a full, black taffeta skirt.  I tucked the bodice into the skirt(which is so full it conceals the bodice) and voila I now had my taffeta full skirt!

I also made some black ribbon and gold sequin bow shoe clips to dress up my black pointy toe pumps(very quickly thrown together with a glue gun!).

ChristmasCelebrations8 (1 of 1)

{Blouse: Talbots, Skirt(really a dress): WHBM with ribbon as belt(from my sewing stash), Tights: Kohls, Necklace: Loft, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini(with DIY shoe clip bows), Headbands: Cato}

The six of us(and 5 dogs…our four plus my “nephew” Fritz) spent the evening laughing, chatting and most of all: EATING.  It’s what we do best after all!!

Our tree was stuffed with presents, but we managed to open them all in about 1.5 hours on Christmas morning, with breaks for breakfast and cleaning up a huge mess(more on that after the picture):

ChristmasCelebrations (1 of 1)

So, we have a fake tree, but like most people we love the smell of a real tree.  In order to create a more festive environment, we have these evergreen scented candles we always light at Christmas time that make the house smell like a real tree.  They were sitting on the coffee table along with all our cups of hot cocoa or coffee.

I was passing out gifts to everyone and while I was handing my dad a gift from us, I said, “This is the most epic gift you will receive this year”.  Somehow during this exchange, the gift slipped out of my hands and fell onto the table knocking over the candles as well as a cup of cocoa.  Luckily there was a box sitting next to the coffee table that we were using for trash that absorbed most of the wax(saving the carpet).  We were able to get all the cocoa out of the carpet and the wax scraped off the table without too many issues.

The epic gift was a picture that had the black knight from Monty Python facing off against Gandalf(You have to have seen both movies to understand the joke).

Dad and I both received running gear, so once all gifts had been opened, we headed out for a short run taking full advantage of our gifts!

After a quick shower, I got ready for the day wearing my newly constructed taffeta skirt and a bow sweater I had picked up at Loft over the weekend.  My grandparents and some friends arrived and we began our afternoon festivities.   All in all, it was a fantastic day and we all enjoyed every minute of it.  Though, to be honest, I would not have really minded if today was also a day off from work just so I could recover!

ChristmasCelebrations2 (1 of 1)

ChristmasCelebrations3 (1 of 1)

I did a lapped back zipper and a button closure on the waistband and I really like how it turned out:

ChristmasCelebrations4 (1 of 1)

I lined the skirt with a coordinating teal fabric and added a lace trim.  Part of me wants to shorten the skirt length so that you can see the lace peeking out, but the other part likes the longer length. In case you’re wondering, I made the skirt exactly the same way as The Kate Skirt Tutotrial only I gathered the skirt instead of making pleats.

ChristmasCelebrations5 (1 of 1)

{Sweater: Loft: Skirt: Made by Me, Tights: Walmart, Shoes: Sears(bow clips made by me), Headband: Cato}

So as to not make this post any longer than it already is, I’ll write tomorrow about all the homemade gifts(since they’ve all been given now) I had been working on for the past 3 months(complete with pictures).

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Christmas Celebrations

  1. fitundgluecklich says:

    Looks like you had a great christmas time!!! I’m constantly amazed by how much you accomplish!! Here in Austria we always have 2 days off a week for weekend and more holidays than you have, and I do a lot, but I feel like you are mastering a lot more and with such a grace… just had to say that 😉 Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

