Sparkles

Continuing with my theme of wearing Holiday inspired looks, today I’m wearing a sparkly dress.  This dress was one of my black Friday purchases(along with tights and two necklaces).  I saw it on a poster at Kohl’s and I was instantly smitten.  I didn’t actually think that it was available in the store(Target is famous for having pictures of awesome clothes that they don’t have), but then I found it tucked away in a corner.

I didn’t buy it that night, but I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  The next day I went back and purchased it as well as the matching jacket.  It’s a versatile dress because it is modest enough for work, and not so flashy as to be over the top(at least for my work), but it can also be dressed up into a perfect party dress.

I wore it this past weekend when my parents and husband and I had our annual Christmas double “date”.  Traditionally, we’ve always gone to the Savannah Symphony at the St. John Cathedral then to a quick dinner, but this year it was sold out!  So, we ended up going out for thai food and then to a light parade(with hot cocoa at the end!), which was quite a good time.

Here’s how I wore it for our night out:

sparkledress (1 of 1)

 

My tights actually have rhinestones going up the back, but I couldn’t get a good picture of that unfortunately.

sparkledress1 (1 of 1)

 

Tonight I have a dinner to attend, so it seemed the perfect day to wear the dress again, this time for the office:

Also, I cut my bangs this morning to be true bangs and not the “swoop” as hubby calls it.  He loves it(when I came out of the bathroom he went, wow your hair looks awesome!).  I like it for now, but I’m sure I’ll want my “swoop” bangs back soon enough.  Luckily my hair grows really quickly!!

sparkledress2 (1 of 1)

 

And with the jacket, which does not photograph well…it looks good in person!  Though I must admit, I am not currently wearing it because it’s itchy around the neck.

sparkledress6 (1 of 1)-2

 

 

 

{Dress/Blazer/Tights: Kohls, Necklace: Ebay, Bracelet: BCBG or Bebe(can’t remember which), Shoes: Enzo Angiolini, Headband: Cato}

-Tamara

 

4 thoughts on “Sparkles

    • guitargrl325 says:

      thanks!! the very night I saw it I came home and searched online for the fabric thinking I could make my own, but quickly realized it would cost as much(or more) to sew my own so I figured I should just buy it. It was on sale for 40% off and there was only ONE in my size and it had a couple pulls(it’s a faux wool boucle knit) so I asked if there were any additional discounts, so they ended up giving me an additional 20% off! I was pretty stoked. I’m planning to wear it very soon as a jumper over a button up

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I figure it can’t hurt to ask for a discount. I worked in retail for many years; I know how things work! In hindsight, I wish I hadn’t purchased the jacket because it just doesn’t look right(hangs funnily or something) plus the neck is SO itchy it’s almost unwearable….but I adore the dress!

Leave a Reply

