Inspired Style: Burgundy and Red

I feel very “Blair Waldorf”=esq in today’s ensemble, though she wouldn’t be caught dead wearing any of the pieces I’m actually wearing since they came from places like Target, Goodwill and the clearance section of Loft!!

I had originally saved this image(I think I saw it on Nordstrom’s website) because I liked the idea of combining red with burgundy.

Screen Shot 2012-08-30 at 10.09.49 AM

 

I was not about to wear fingerless gloves, so I substituted a statement ring and I am wearing booties, but no socks.  I don’t like that look, so I am wearing textured tights instead(since my skirt is not actually tweed and is much less textured than hers).

I do wish my sweater was not so sheer that you could see the white dress shirt underneath!  You can’t really tell in the pictures, but in real life the skirt has flecks of red scattered throughout so it really does match well with the sweater.

burgandyandred1.jpg (1 of 1)

 

{Blouse: Goodwill(originally Banana Republic), Sweater: Loft, Skirt/ring: Target, Tights: Vera Wang at Kohls, Shoes: Ross, Necklace: Cut off an old t-shirt}

If you want to be a little more simple, you can remove the necklace(and change the  booties to pumps, ahem, which I didn’t do for this photo) and then it is just a simple office look.

burgandyandred.jpg (1 of 1)

Today I’m working in my favorite office!  It’s my favorite for many reasons, one of which is because it’s only 5 minutes from my house.  It’s also gorgeously decorated and I get to spend time with one of my closets friends(I got her the job here actually).  Win-win-win for me!  It also means I get to go home for lunch and eat with the hubby(he’s off today) which is basically unheard of around here!!

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

