Jewel Tones

My outfit today is not particularly Christmasy(no gold or silver sequins, no red or green) but somehow I feel Christmasy in it.  Maybe it’s the fact that the magenta bustier I’m wearing is one I originally wore in 2010 for Christmas Eve Dinner.  Maybe it’s the bow bracelet(which I found at Beall’s Outlet for $2!) or the headband.  Either way, I’m really digging this outfit!  In hindsight, I do wish I were wearing tights because it’s chilly and rainy today.  I’ve been so used to the hot weather, I didn’t even think about the heat wave being over.

Jeweltones (1 of 1)

For a more modest version, button up the cardigan, leaving just the very top of the bustier exposed.

Jeweltones1 (1 of 1)

You can also add a blazer for a really polished look.

Jeweltones2 (1 of 1)

{Bustier: Maurices, Cardigan: Target, Skirt: JC Penney, Necklace: NY and Co, Shoes: Enzo Angiolini, Blazer: Kenneth Cole}

I wanted to give you an update on my Holiday Dress Challenge.  If you don’t remember, I had planned to make a new dress or skirt for each of the “significant” events I was attending this Holiday season.  These were to include: Thanksgiving, office Christmas party, Symphony, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

I completed the Thanksgiving day dress and you’ve already seen that.  I added in another dress/event in the form of my friend’s wedding  last week, which caused me to not have time to make a dress for my office party(I wore an old dress to that).

We’re not going to they Symphony because we waited too late to buy tickets and they were already sold out.  Instead, we’re going out to dinner and doing a few other Christmas things in town.  I’ll be wearing a dress I purchased from Kohl’s on Black Friday for that.

So that leaves me Christmas Eve and Christmas day.  The dress I made for the wedding was almost exactly like the dress I had planned to make for Christmas Eve, only a different color, so I’ve come up with a new plan.  I have ordered some red taffeta fabric and am planning to make a red dress with a nice full skirt!!  I’m alternating between two different inspiration ideas, so I’ll leave it at that for now, but you’ll definitely see the finished project.

For Christmas Day, I had originally planned to make a tulle ballerina skirt reminiscent of an Anthropologie one, but then I found this GORGEOUS teal-grean/black/gold plaid silk taffeta that was just BEGGING To be made into a skirt.  So, I’m making that into a skirt and I think it will be PERFECT paired with a simple black sweater and some fun tights.  For those who asked for a tutorial on the tulle skirt, I still plan to make it and a tutorial for it(if it works out), but it will probably be in the new year(or maybe I’ll make it FOR new year’s eve….)

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

