The Lace Pencil Skirt

I guess I have lace on the brain because I’m wearing yet another outfit with lace.  I actually made this skirt almost 7 months ago.  I never wore it because when I had first completed it, it was a little tight around the thighs.

In the past two months or so, I’ve dropped all heavy weight lifting on my lower body. It just seemed like I was just getting bulkier and bigger thighs.  I still do jump squats and air squats and running(plus heavy lifting for my upper body), but no weighted squats or dead lifts.  And apparently it’s working because my thighs must have shrunk..Otherwise there’d be no way I could wear this skirt today!!

This morning when I was getting ready, I decided I wanted to debut this skirt(finally) but figured it’d still be too tight and so I planned to just use it for photos and then put on a more comfortable skirt.  I’m sure you can imagine my delight when I realized it now fit!

Back in April or May, I was shopping at Hancock Fabrics and I found this beautiful rust colored lace alongside some rust colored satin on the 80% off table.  I knew it was fate, so I purchased what they had.  I had saved this picture as an inspiration(from Banana Republic) and I figured the lace/satin combination would be almost perfect.

53-Banana-Republic-skirt

 

I cut out the pattern pieces in both the satin and the lace and then I sewed the lace pieces on top of the satin pieces(wrong side of lace to right side of satin, i.e., so that the right sides of both faced out) with a really narrow seam(less than 1/4″) and basically made each combination of satin and lace become one piece.  Then I sewed the skirt together following the instructions.

When I was nearly finished with the skirt, I was pressing the waistband and I accidentally burned a hole in the lace.  I didn’t have enough lace left to re-do the front panel, so I cut a piece of lace  from the little bit I did have left and patched the hole.  You can’t actually tell unless I point it out.

lacepencil3 (1 of 1)

 

Back view(so you can see the bow closure)

lacepencil2 (1 of 1)

lacepencil (1 of 1)

 

 

I didn’t know about making linings at the time when I made this skirt, so I bound all the seams in bias tape I made from the satin.

lacepencil6 (1 of 1)

 

 

lacepencil1 (1 of 1)

 

lacepencil5 (1 of 1)

 

{Blouse: Gap, Cardigan: J. Crew, Necklace/Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes: Goodwill(originally Payless)}

-Tamara

6 thoughts on “The Lace Pencil Skirt

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I bought a 1.5 yard remnant of bright pink lace at Wal-Mart the other day….might try to make another, but in pink(obviously), if I can locate a lining fabric in a matching color.

  1. heatherdisme says:

    I am really impressed by your blog – I just found it today. I’ve been working on similar projects and getting back in to sewing, so thank you for being an inspiration to get the machine back out! Keep up the great work 🙂

    • guitargrl325 says:

      That is so awesome that you’re getting back into sewing. Two years ago, I would have never predicted that I would fall so head over heels in love with it and basically turn into a sewing machine(haha, pun not intended but really funny now that I’ve re-read what I wrote!). I want to get to the point where I basically make all my own clothes(with the exception of sweaters and shoes of course).

      I tried to visit your blog but it says it’s not there? Is there another way to get to it?

      • heatherdisme says:

        http://www.heatherdisme.wordpress.com
        I wonder what is going on (I’m still pretty new to the blog scene. I’ve tried it a couple times before, but it never stuck and now I feel like a total tech newbie). Ha! It would be so awesome to make all your own clothes! At the moment I’m trying to reconfigure thrift store finds – posts to follow 🙂

      • guitargrl325 says:

        Now I got it. For some reason it shows up as .com not wordpress.com when I look at your profile pic on your comments.

        So, I love the heel/day idea for May. We must think a lot alike because I was thinking of doing something similar later on in the year!

        I have to give you mad props for revamping thrift store finds. I’ve had more failures than successes with that. For the most part, I’d rather just make something from scratch than try to make something over(though occasionally I have done a few up-cycles). I do like to read about the bloggers who are successful at making thrift store crap look couture!

Leave a Reply

