Winter Summer

With the heat wave(it’s been in the high 70s each day so far this week and forecasted to stay that way for awhile) going strong, I felt drawn to lighter summery colors.  But I still wanted to make it look more fall/winter appropriate(as appropriate as you can be for a 79 degree day in December).

I don’t have a lot of great options for different ways to style this outfit.  I just changed the shoes from a nude pump to a dark coral to show the difference a bright shoe versus a nude shoe can make.

I have been furiously sewing during any and all free time.  Hubby and I are going to a wedding tonight and I really wanted to wear one of my own creations.  I *thought* I could complete it much more quickly than it’s turned out to be.  Last night I thought it was a lost cause.  I really thought that it was destined for the rag pile.  But I worked till about midnight on a solution(and this morning before work) and it’s nearly done.  Just some hand sewing that I can do at lunch.  I hope it turns out, because if it does it will be a miracle!

 

Nude shoes:

summerwinter1 (1 of 1)

 

Bright shoes:

summerwinter (1 of 1)

 

{Blouse/Necklace: F21, Cardigan: WHBM, Skirt; Ann Klein, Nude pumps: Amazon, Coral Pumps: Payless}

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Winter Summer

    • guitargrl325 says:

      There’s actually a rather funny story relating to this skirt. My mom owns the exact same one. We bought them at the same time on a shopping trip while they were visiting me during my last year of optometry school. I was doing an externship in Salisbury, NC and we were shopping at Concord Mills. We both bought this skirt then all four of us(mom, sister and dad) went to eat lunch at the food court.

      After lunch, we continued shopping and finally headed back to my apartment. We discovered later that we had left a bag behind at the food court. The bag containing my mom’s skirt. She was devastated because she loved the skirt so much. I tried calling the mall but they were already closed. My parents got up early the next day and drove to the mall, and luckily, one of the restaurants had noticed the bag and saved it behind their counter. So, she did end up recovering the skirt and wears it often!

Leave a Reply

