First Impressions

Today is sort of my first day at a “new” job.  But not really.  It’s kind of a convoluted story.

During my last year of optometry school, the hubby and I had already decided we wanted to move to Savannah after graduation.  I contacted a private practice that I had heard about from my dad(who already lived and worked in the area).  I was offered a job before I even graduated, so once I received my license, I started working, we bought a house and hubby transferred to the area.

I had a long commute, long hours and no benefits at that job, so when an offer came from a practice much closer with better hours, benefits and the promise of bonuses(that never came), I changed jobs. That job turned out to be the worst possible job(AKA the very bad job) I could have taken.  The business was managed so poorly that it was losing money hand over fist.  After only 5 months, my hours were cut back from 5 days a week to 2.5 days and my benefits revoked(despite having a contract) because they couldn’t afford it.

I scrambled around looking for a part-time job, and ended up with two(in addition to the very bad job).  In June 2011, I started working 6 days a week at three different practices.  One was a franchised store and the other a private practice.  At the time, I was only working 1 day at the private practice, but I could tell it was the kind of practice where I would like to be full-time.  In February of this year, the private practice approached me about adding a few more days and I was able to quit the very bad job and just work at the private practice and the franchised store.  It was very liberating not to be at the very bad job, but I was still working 6 days a week with no benefits and multiple jobs.

In August, the private practice approached me with an offer to be full-time starting in November, which I of course agreed to(after some negotiating).  This past Saturday was my last day at the franchised store and I will now be having weekends off as I won’t be working Saturdays anymore(and only working 5 days a week!).

The private practice I am now full-time at, has three locations.  I’ve always worked in the Richmond Hill office with occasional fill-ins at the Pooler office.  Today is my first day at the Hinesville location, meeting staff I’d never met before and I wanted to make a good impression with my outfit.

I wanted to look professional(of course), but still convey that I have a sense of style and am fun and playful.

Red goes well with leopard.  And I’ve mixed navy stripes with leopard before, so I figured it wasn’t too much of a stretch to combine red stripes with leopard.

Option 1:

 

 

Option 2:

 

 

{Blouse: WHBM, Skirt: Made By Me, Cardigan: Old Navy, Shoes: Ross, Red Necklace: Loft, Pearls: F21, Belt: Limited}

I finished the first of my four Holiday dresses last night!  I will be debuting it on Thursday, but here’s a sneak peak of it on my dress form(taken with my iPhone):

-Tamara

5 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. ashley says:

    Congratulations on the “new” job! By the way, I’m absolutely loving the skirt, as well as the dress. Can’t wait to see the finished result.

    PS: How do you do your hair? It always looks so full.

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I have a lot of hair to begin with, but I also use Aquage uplifting foam if I blow dry it(which is not every day or even every week…I hate blow drying!). I also back comb(or tease or rat) my hair and then smooth it down a bit try to keep most of the volume. I get the most oomph if I blow dry it upside down after using Aquage then back comb it.

      Kate from the small things blog has a lot of tutorials on how to use aquage, how to back comb, ect. I pretty much do what she does to get my hair the way it is.

Leave a Reply

