Theme Week 4: Dressing for All Seasons Day 1: Sequin Skirt

So now we’re back for our fourth and final theme week: Dressing for All Seasons. For this week, I am attempting to show you how to take specific pieces and make them work for outfits for each of the four seasons.  Now, living in S. Georgia, we don’t have much of a winter to speak of, so the winter looks *may* not be layered or warm enough for you, but I’m hoping you can still find inspiration in how to stretch your wardrobe across the seasons.

For my first attempt, I decided to use my sequin skirt.  I just love it so much and I look for any opportunity to get more uses out of it.

The skirt is from WHBM and I got it for $10 on final clearance this past spring.

Obviously, I wouldn’t recommend seeking out and purchasing a sequin skirt if you are trying to build a work-appropriate wardrobe.  A black pencil skirt would work perfectly for each of these outfits and would be appropriate for even the most conservative of offices.  I just wanted to have some fun!!

So, without further ado, here is my sparkle skirt worn 4 different ways, one for each season:

Spring:

I kept it light and fresh with spring-like colors, nude shoes and some layering for chilly mornings.

 

{Blouse: Banana Republic Outlet, Cardigan: Limited, Necklace: Target, Shoes: Rack Room}

Summer:

Around here, it’s hotter than hot during the summer, but every building is over-air conditioned so you need something that will breath but will be significant enough for the cold air conditioner.  I decided to keep it simple with a soft grey cotton short sleeve sweater(with a tiny bow on the neck!!) and minimal accessories.

{Sweater: Banana Republic, Bracelet: WHBM(gift), Shoes: Kate Spade}

Fall

Fall in Georgia is a tricky business.  One day it will be in the high 80s and the next, it will be in the 40s.  I’m kind of trying to cover both eventualities here:  short sleeve turtleneck if it’s hot, but tights/boots for warmth if it’s cold.  Obviously, if you live somewhere that is much cooler, you could wear a long sleeve turtleneck(but this is the only one I own).

{Sweater: Banana Republic Outlet, Necklace/ring: Target, Boots: DSW, Headband: Payless}

Winter:

I probably would never wear all these pieces together…not because I don’t like how it looks(because I actually LOVE it), but because it is way to warm for any of the weather we ever get around here.  Long-sleeve blouse+wool sweater+wool blazer=FURNACE! I was sweating just taking these pictures.  I might wear it without the blazer though!  If I were actually wearing this in the winter and not just for this post, I would’ve traded out the sheer black hose for some thicker ribbed sweater tights.  But I was running short on time!!

{Blouse: Goodwill(Originally Banana), Cardigan: Banana Republic, Blazer: Ann Klein: From a Suit, Necklace: NY&Co, Shoes: Urbanog.com}

So which option did I end up wearing today? It’s actually a combination of sorts.  I’m wearing the summer version, but with tights and closed toe black ballet flats.

Do you have a “spring/summer” wardrobe and a “fall/winter” wardrobe?  I hear of people packing away their summer clothes and getting out winter clothes but I haven’t had to do this in my adult life(since I’ve only lived in Florida and GA with a brief stint in North Carolina).  I do keep my tights and a selection of cold weather running items in a basket at the top of my closet, but other than that I have full access to my wardrobe at all times.

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

