Theme Week 3: Color Blocking Day 1

**During the month of October I’ll be featuring four weeks of “themes” or “topics”.  Each week will have a theme that will dictate how I wear/style my outfits.***

The start of a new week means the start of a new theme!  For this week, I’ll be showing different outfits featuring color blocking.  Color blocking is a simple way to put pieces together for dramatic effect. Basically, you pair together pieces in complimentary colors that you ordinarily wouldn’t think went together(blue and red, pink and green, orange and blue, ect).

I utilize color blocking almost daily in my outfits.  Just scrolling back two-three pages in my blog, I found more than 8 outfits that incorporated some sort of color blocking.

For today, I tried to come up with a color combination that I don’t think I’ve worn before: Pink and Red.  I guess technically, red and pink are not complimentary colors(since they are not opposites from each other) but they pair well together and are rather unexpected when you consider  traditional pairing of colors.

Option 1: Equal mix of red/pink

 

 

 

Option 2: Use red as accents only

{Tank: Target, Cardigan/Belt: Limited, Skirt: Penney’s, Shoes: Bakers, Necklace 1: F21, Necklace 2: WHBM}

I am very tired today.  I had a full weekend traveling to Athens, GA spending the entire weekend getting CE credits.  My hotel was only about a mile away from the conference center, so I walked, but it gave me wicked nasty blisters.  I changed into comfortable sandals right after I took these pics!

Have a great week!

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

