Theme Week 1: Black and White Day 4

***During the month of October I’ll be featuring four weeks of “themes” or “topics”.  Each week will have a theme that will dictate how I wear/style my outfits.***

I’m temporarily putting Teacher Thursdays on hold for the month of October while I do my theme weeks.  My sister will be back starting in November!

The skirt I’m wearing today is another one of my scores from Goodwill.  It’s originally from Banana Republic and it still had tags on it that indicated the skirt originally sold for $98!  I paid $3.  It’s a few sizes too big, so I need to take it in, but I was so excited to wear it, that I just temporarily pinned it so I could wear it!  I had been looking for a white skirt so it was quite the find for me!

For today’s options, I decided to keep the outfit the same but show you how different belts can affect the overall “look”.

Option 1: bow belt

Option 2: Thick Buckle Belt

Option 3: Floral Belt

{Blouse: Burlington Coat Factory($5!), Skirt: Thrifted(originally Banana), Shoes/Necklace: Target, Bow Belt/Flower Belt: NY&Co, Buckle Belt: WHBM, Headband: gift}

I told you guys last week that hubby and I are going to a Halloween Party at my sister’s house and we are dressing up as Joan and Roger from Mad Men.  Joan has fabulous style and she pretty much always wears  fitted pencil dresses in different colors and fabrics.  I started re-watching old episodes to look for inspiration.  When I saw this dress from Season 2, Episode 1, I knew I could make something similar.

I went through my pattern stash, narrowing my selections to three patterns that contained pencil skirt dresses.  The only problem was, all my patterns had scoop or v-neck’s, not square as Joan’s dress is.  I thought about finding a pencil dress pattern that had a square neck, but then talked myself into adapting a current pattern into a square neck.

The pattern I am using is Vogue’s V8766 style E(the yellow one seen in the pic below)

Once I finish the dress, I’ll go into details on how I converted the scoop neck to a square neck.  I’m using a red stretch satin for the dress, lined with matte jersey leopard.  I have the bodice nearly complete at  this point(just have to hem the sleeves), so I wanted to share my progress:

Before I added the second sleeve

 

the awesome leopard lining!!

Sleeves are on!

Are you dressing up for Halloween?  I’m definitely going to re-wear this “costume” on the actual day of Halloween for work, but I’m thinking of changing into something more dramatic to answer the door for trick-or-treaters.

I also can’t wait to re-style this dress and get lots of use out of it!

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Theme Week 1: Black and White Day 4

Leave a Reply

