Theme Week 1: Black and White Day 3

***During the month of October I’ll be featuring four weeks of “themes” or “topics”.  Each week will have a theme that will dictate how I wear/style my outfits.***

So, two things about today’s outfit.

1. I LOVE this cardigan

2.  I only wear it about once or twice a year.

It’s a beautiful cardigan and I love the feminine details of the flowers, but it’s very hard to wash.  The black from the flowers bleeds onto the white and then I have to carefully scrub it off with a toothbrush and try to rinse it without getting the flowers re-wet.  It’s such a pain that whenever I think about wearing it, I almost always talk myself out of it for that very reason.  I know that in theory I could wear it several times without washing it since I only work in an office, but obviously if you’re thinking this, you haven’t met me!  I am very accident prone, and always spill food or drink on my clothes, so it’s pretty much guaranteed that I will need to wash this cardigan after each time I wear it(as I was typing this post, I took a sip of coffee and somehow spilled it on my shirt and skirt!).

Option One: Blouse Untucked

 

 

 

 

Option 2: Blouse tucked in and belted at waist

 

 

{Blouse/Cardigan: WHBM, Skirt: JC Penney, Belt: Limited, Necklace: Maurices, Shoes: Kate Spade}

I have a bonus option today.  As I was getting ready, I thought this outfit is a good one that can easily transition from work day professional to a nice dinner out look.  Remove the sweater, add a statement necklace, fancy shoes and a clutch and you’re ready for a hot date!  If I were really going to wear this out, I would add a chunky bracelet to my left wrist.

I originally purchased these shoes to wear to my sister’s rehearsal dinner, but it ended up being so cold that night that I had to wear tights and closed toe shoes.  I’ve never really had an opportunity to wear these shoes yet because they’re not really appropriate for the office!   The clutch is from her wedding and both shoes/clutch are from DSW.

Do you like how I styled my hair?  I used a diffuser to dry it and this is what resulted.  I have a little bit of wave to my hair(mostly just some random cowlicks), but with the diffuser and some curl encouraging cream, I suddenly have wavy hair!  Hubby adores it.  I styled it like this on Saturday and he said it looked awesome and then later said it was “epic” which is really high praise from him(he likes big hair)

Tomorrow I’ll share some updates on my Halloween Costume project!  It’s coming together really well.

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

