Theme Week 1: Black and White Day 1

So we’re kicking off October with four weeks of “themes” or “topics”.  Each week will have a theme that will dictate how I wear/style my outfits.

Week One is an homage to the way in which I used to dress before this blog(read: pretty much black, black and more black) the ever popular black and white.

All week long I’ll be featuring black and white looks.  I know I often disparage my old way of dressing, but there is something to be said for the classic-ness of black and white.  It doesn’t have to be boring(as I always was pre-blog).  I’ll be dressing it up with bright pops of colors and fun textures and patterns.

To start the week off, I wanted to wear an outfit that featured a black and white blouse that I had recently made.  You’ve seen it before(I paired it with my ball gown skirt for a fancy dinner out(see it here).

I made this blouse mostly as a test run for the pattern as well as to improve my sewing skills. I found the fabric in the remnant bin at Wal-Mart for a few bucks so I knew if I screwed it up it wasn’t a big deal.  If you’re a new sewer or just getting into sewing, I’d recommend doing  a “test run” for any new projects before using your good fabric.  That way you can figure out what works, what doesn’t and what you need to do and/or change for the final product.  For example, I’m working on a special Christmas gift and I made a test run of it this weekend using a set of sheets I bought at goodwill for $3(sheets make great throwaway fabric!).

My Dorothy Dress is another example of such a test run(I’m planning to make the dress in a beautiful silk fabric but wanted to make it in a cheap fabric first).  I know some seamstresses use muslin to make their trials, but I figure if I can find a good deal on fabric, I can make a  test piece and if it turns out, I can get a few wears out of it!

Now, normally when I show you outfit options, I use the same pieces configured in slightly different ways to create slightly different looks. Today, I am showing you two different skirts to create two different options.

For option 1, I am wearing an A-line skirt lower on my hips without a belt.  Technically the skirt is a pencil skirt, but it’s a few sizes too big, so it ends up functioning as an A-line midi skirt(it’s from goodwill).

Option 2 uses an actual pencil skirt that sits much higher on the waist(and is more fitted) with a zebra print belt for a bit of added interest.  I’m pre-warning you: I have NO idea why I”m smiling so hard in this photo.  It’s a little scary, but it’s the only one I got so here ya go:

 

{Blouse: Made by Me, Skirt 1: Thrifted(originally Target), Skirt 2: JC Penney, Shoes: Rack Room, Belt:NY&C0 , Necklace: Ebay}

The blouse was actually really easy to put together.  Even the button-holes…because my sewing machine has a button-hole making function and it is AWESOME!!  I did make a few mistakes though….I attached the cuff backwards on one sleeve, which isn’t a big deal unless you’re looking for it.  And I did the button holes vertically on the cuffs instead of horizontally.

Also, the sleeves were too big for the sleeve hole and I tried to do a gather at the shoulder but it does end up looking a little like shoulder pads!!  I have a method so that this doesn’t happen for future projects though.

But overall, I’m really pleased with how it turned out.  I didn’t really have to do any adjustments and it fits me very well(I think anyways).  I can’t wait to make some more blouses with nice fabric!  I really shouldn’t have to buy any more blouses from here on out considering I can make them so easily.

Have a great week!

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

