Teacher Thursdays: Snow White

Today is another awesome contribution from my super-stylish sister!  She sent me this picture a few weeks back that she took at the mall and said she was going to try to re-create it with items from her own closet.

Even before I saw her interpretation, I knew I wanted to try my hand at recreating a similar look.  So today you’re getting a double treat(plus I’ll tell you about my Halloween Costume).  You’ll be seeing my sister’s awesome recreation as well as mine(and I’m showing you several different ways you can wear mine!)

So, first off, my sister’s look:

She looks just like Snow White doesn’t she?  That’s what everyone was telling her that day.

My version:

Option 1:

Option 2: No Belt

Option 3: No Cardigan or Belt(doesn’t really incorporate all the colors of the original, but it’s still an option that looks cute)

Option 4: Shirt tucked in with belt around waist

{Shirt: Old Navy, Skirt: Limited, Cardigan: Ann Taylor Factory, Shoes: Bakers, Necklace: WHBM}

Technically, I could have done at least two other versions of this look(option 2 and 3 with shirt tucked in) but I ran out of time.

So my cardigan?  You may have thought you recognized it from here when it had long sleeves.  I never liked the sleeves long so I shortened them(I have a long sleeve wool cardigan that is mustard colored already) last night.  I meant for them to be 3/4 length but I messed up a bit and had to shorten them even more.  Luckily it turned out and I really prefer it with shorter sleeves.  I have a couple of other cardigans that I need to do this too as well.

I’m going to a Halloween party at my sister’s house and I convinced my husband to go with me.  We are going as Joan Holloway and Roger Sterling from Mad Men.

If you know me at all, you know I love to go all out and by super-elaborate for my costumes.  Unfortunately this year I’m lacking both in time and finances, so I wanted something that would be fun, but easy and cheap or nearly free.  All my hubby has to do is wear a suit he already owns and we’ll temporarily color his hair grey.  For me, I’ll either make a dress or find something at goodwill.  And since I’ve already got the red hair, I’ll be good to go on that!

Is anyone else going to be dressing up for Halloween?

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Teacher Thursdays: Snow White

    • guitargrl325 says:

      You know, I’ve tried other poses and they just look awkward and unflattering…so I tend to stick to the same pose because it is flattering and I’ve got it down pat! There’s no way I could ever be a model and do those crazy weird poses they do because I would feel awkward and it would show in my face.

Leave a Reply

