Inspired Style: FALL(plus my new hair cut!)

So with tomorrow being the first “official” day of Fall, I decided to ring in the new season a day early with a fall inspired look that I’ve been waiting at least two months to debut.

I came across a picture on pinterest at least two months ago and I loved the combination of gingham, rust and leopard.  I also knew I had the pieces in my closet to re-create my own version of this look. It just screamed fall to me so I decided to wait and debut it on the first day of fall….but since the first day of fall is on a Saturday, I’m doing it today(the day before).

Today is also exciting because I finally got my hair cut!  It was sort of a last minute thing….yesterday morning I was trying to style my hair and it was so long and heavy, I was unable to get it to do right and hubby suggested I just go get my hair cut(he probably was tired of hearing my complain about my hair and wanting it cut).  I thought about it all day and texted my friend who is an awesome stylist.  She got back to me at 6:15 when I was sitting in pj’s on the couch and said she could do it right then!  I changed back into my work clothes and headed to the salon.

I decided to just go for it and get it cut off really short!  It will grow back quickly enough(my hair grows like a weed) and I wanted something dramatic.

So, without further ado, here’s my new ‘do(excuse my weird expression):

From the side:

From the back:

I’m excited to style it in different ways and see how it looks curled!

Now onto today’s look.  First, the picture that was my inspiration for putting these pieces together:

I paired my dorothy dress with my rust cardigan and leopard accessories.  I love how it turned out and it’s definitely the perfect look to usher in my favorite season.

Option 1: Cardigan unbuttoned:

 

 

 

Option 2: Cardigan buttoned(this is how I’m wearing it)

 

{Dress: Made by Me, Cardigan/Necklace: F21, Shoes: Ross, Belt: Old Navy, Headband: Payless}

Are you excited for fall like I am?  For me, it’s not just the clothes, colors and foods, but mainly the cooler(relatively speaking) weather!  I hate running when it’s a swamp outside so it’ll be nice to be able to run without drowning in sweat(on Sunday the low is 60!!)

Have a great weekend!

-Tamara

 

 

6 thoughts on “Inspired Style: FALL(plus my new hair cut!)

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! I’m still getting used to it…I’ll occasionally catch my reflection and think “that’s not me!” I have long hair!! And washing it for the first time last night was weird. I definitely poured out WAY too much conditioner(guess I was thinking I still had 3 feet of hair to condition, instead of less than 1). This morning I tried to curl my hair…what a disaster! I’ll either have to let it get a bit longer, or I’m need a smaller barrel curling iron.

  1. heidi says:

    i absolutely love it! what a great cut! i hope one of these days to have enough courage to do something totally different with my look, it’s amazing what a boost it can give you! i love your outfit as well (of course), these colors look so great together. hope you’re having a good weekend!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      It’s definitely hard to make the jump from long hair to short….but I just kept telling myself, hair grows! I ended up going shorter than planned but now I’ll get to enjoy it at different lengths as it grows out(I seriously doubt I’ll keep it this style)….not because I don’t like it, but because it’s a lot of maintenance and I like to do lots of different things with my hair!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Well, I can’t take full credit for the styling since I was using a picture from Pinterest as my inspiration, but thanks for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

