Overdressed

When my husband saw me this morning he remarked that I was really dressed up for work.  Then later in he mentioned it again.  I told him I’ve worn this sparkly skirt to work at least two times(to clarify, he wasn’t being critical of my outfit, just observing that he thought a sequin skirt was very fancy for a day at the office).

I think that sequins can be too much obviously, but with the right pairing of accessories and muted tops, I think they can also be work appropriate(at least in most cases).

Option 1: Shirt tucked in with belt

 

 

 

Option 2: Shirt untucked(this is the way I’m wearing it today)

 

 

{Top: Banana Republic, Skirt: WHBM(I found it on final sale for $10 earlier this year!), Shoes: Kate Spade, Necklace: Gift from Sister, Belt: Limited}

Would you wear a sequin skirt or top to work?

-Tamara

8 thoughts on “Overdressed

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I’m lucky in that I can basically wear whatever I want more or less. I technically could wear scrubs everyday if I wanted(but that wouldn’t be any fun!). Obviously, I still have to be professional, but I have way more freedom of what I can wear versus most people.

  1. Magical Effects of Thinking says:

    OMG. I love that skirt. I would have it maybe 3 inches longer, eh maybe 2. I love mixing something fancy with casual. Like chandelier earrings with denim etc. I seriously might have to find some material and make my own. I’m about finished with the leopard skirt. Yes, I would totally wear that!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Good luck finding fabric! I tried for months to find similar fabric(never found any), and it was only luck that I stumbled upon the skirt on final clearance for $10 at the white house black market outlet(it’s missing some sequins which I need to actually sew on). That’s so(sew…haha) exciting about your leopard skirt! I’m putting all my personal projects on a hiatus as I’m going to start construction of multiple Christmas gifts for family members. I figure I need all the time I can get for that!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I don’t think my hubby thought it was too curvaceous, just weird that I’d be wearing sequins to the office…but I told him the whole point was to tone down the sequins with a similarly colored plain(ish) top. I do like to get my hubby’s opinion of my outfits, but sometimes he doesn’t always get what I’m doing style-wise(and he hates cardigans which I can’t abide by and wear anyways).

  2. lushlili says:

    The skirt is great! I wouldn’t be able to pull that off in my office.

    I like the way you wore it. Plus, it was so cheap for $10!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I am really lucky that my office is so open and I can basically wear whatever I want(within reason, obviously I won’t be showing up to work in booty shorts and a halter top!). It definitely makes it easier to “experiment” with fun looks and dramatic makeup.

Leave a Reply

