Mint Chocolate Chip

Remember when I told you I was looking for a polka dot dress and had finally found one at Old Navy?  Well, I’m finally wearing it today.  And since I’m pairing it with my recently acquired mint cardigan, I couldn’t help but think of mint chocolate chip ice cream(the polka dots are the chocolate chips…work with me here).

It’s also an exciting day, because I came up with multiple ways to put this outfit together and they’re all a little different yet stylish and fun.

FYI: some of my expressions are really weird in these photos.

Option 1: Dress on it’s own with turquoise jewelry

 

See the scratches on my leg? those are from the run through the jungle on Saturday.

Option 2: Cardigan open over the dress

 

Option 3: Buttoned-up cardigan over dress

 

Option 4: Same as 3 but with sash tied around waist OVER the cardigan

 

Option 5: Tie the sash loosely around your neck creating a bow neck blouse effect.  I was going to quit after option 4 because I honestly didn’t think there were any more options…and then I had a flash of genius(haha) and realized I could make it look like I had on a bow neck blouse by tying the sash around my neck.  Of course this is the way I’m wearing it today!!

 

 

{Dress: Old Navy, Cardigan: J. Crew, Necklace: Target, Shoes: Kate Spade}

I LOVE discovering new ways to wear the same clothes…it’s really fun and a good challenge.  Do you ever wear the same pieces together but in a slightly different way to create a “new look”?

-Tamara

3 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Chip

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you!! I’m so glad you feel inspired because that’s my main goal in all this. I came up with the idea of different versions of the same outfit a few weeks ago when I realized the outfit I was wearing at the time could be styled in different ways with the same accessories. I thought about doing different days featuring the different looks, but then realized it’d be better to group them all together.

      It’s forced me to be more creative in styling my looks and not just reaching for the same standard way of pairing things together.

  1. heidi says:

    i love it! i have so many little ties like that that go with dresses and this is such a creative way to “use” it. i love these colors together too!

Leave a Reply

