Weekend Adventures

My in-laws are here visiting us this weekend so both my husband and I took the weekend off from work to spend with them.  We have had quite the busy adventure in the few days that they’ve been here.

They arrived Friday night after a long drive(and a furious cleaning session by hubby and I to make the house presentable).  After an hour or so of visiting, we all headed to bed.

I, as per my usual, woke up way earlier than anyone else, so I laced up my shoes and headed on a run around the lake in our community.  The path was so overgrown that it was very difficult and I was covered with seed pods and dirt by the end(plus my shoes were SOAKED).  After cleaning up and enjoying a cup of coffee, I got ready and then we all headed to the Green Truck Pub for an early lunch.

We spent the afternoon walking around Downtown and stopped by Leopold’s for ice cream.

We came home for a few hours to rest and get ready for our evening adventure which consisted of church then dinner with my parents at Alligator Soul.  I wanted to dress up for this occasion, so I wore my pink DIY ballgown skirt with a new blouse I had just completed a few days earlier.  I really liked the way the blouse toned down the formalness of the skirt and made it perfect for the evening we had.

 

 

 

{Blouse: made by me, Skirt: Made by me, Necklaces: F21, Shoes: Kate Spade, Headband: Target}

I ate way too much delicious food and they practically had to roll me home(it was worth it though!).

On Sunday we all slept in a little bit, and after getting ready we headed off to Charleston to spend the day.  We had a grand time walking around looking at the beautiful historic homes, doing a bit of shopping(my shoes were giving me blisters so I had to buy a replacement pair!) and taking a tour. We ended our trip by going to the Isle of Palms and walking on the beach.

I lived in Charleston for about 5 months and attended the Medical University of South Carolina for 1 semester back in 2005 so it was nice to come back and see all my old “haunts”.

We drove back to Savannah to watch Sunday Night Football and eat pizza and wings.  It was a great weekend overall, with the best part being able to spend time with family.  I was sad to say good-bye to them this morning since we don’t know the next time we’ll be able to see them again.  But unfortunately, that is the reality of life!

Enjoy your week!

-Tamara

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekend Adventures

  1. heidi says:

    i’m glad you had such a great weekend! charleston was always a city i wanted to visit when i lived in georgia, but unfortunately it never happened! and i have to hear more about this blouse you made!!

Leave a Reply

