101 Dalmatians

Today I present you with the second most awesome* piece I have acquired while shopping at Goodwill(it was the first most awesome until this past Wednesday when I found something even better).

I was browsing through Goodwill a week or so ago, and spotted a polka dotted skirt.  I plucked it from the racks to discover that it was not only my size, it was 100% silk, originally from Banana Republic, in perfect condition AND it was 50% off that day.  It came to the grand total of $2!

Because the spots are a little irregular in size and placement it makes me think of a Dalmatian’s coat.

I decided to pair it with a dose of light pink+bright pink via a very old blouse and a brand new sweater(Old Navy, I’m going to do some DIY to it to make it look like this amazing, sold out, way out of my budget sweater from Ann Taylor).  A pop of turquoise completes the look.

{Blouse: Banana Republic Factory, Sweater: Old Navy, Skirt: Thrifted(originally Banana), Shoes: Rack Room, Necklace: Target, Headband: Christmas Gift}

Do you shop at thrift stores or Goodwill?  I never did until about 1-2 months ago.  I was inspired by Heidi who always has such nice pieces that she found at Goodwill and the like.  I started shopping at one near my M,W, TH office location and I’ve had great success finding wonderful clothes not only myself but my mom, sister and sister-in-law!  I think I’m officially hooked.

*The reason I call it the second most awesome piece is because this past Wednesday I found a made in Italy, wool blazer, also from Banana for $6 that fits me like a glove(it probably cost $198 new).  Once it gets cooler, I’ll be debuting my blazer(can’t wait!).

-Tamara

3 thoughts on “101 Dalmatians

  1. Emily says:

    I actually have a blouse in the same fabric as your skirt that I got from the Banana Republic outfit and I love it. I wear it with a black pencil skirt with pops of red all the time. Great find!

  2. heidi says:

    i’m so glad you’re starting to find some gems at the GW. i still get that same excited feeling when something on the rack catches my eye and i pull it out and see that it’s a great brand or a great price (and in my size!). this skit looks great on you!!

Leave a Reply

