Teacher Thursdays: Ketchup and Mustard

So, I am really excited about today’s post!  I know I have mentioned it before, but my sister is a /HUGE style inspiration to me.  While I’ve only recently jumped on the style train, she’s always been up there chugging along.  She is the one that got me into wearing bold necklaces and colored shoes.  I get a lot of color combination ideas from her and we bounce outfit ideas off one another.

I’ve been wanting to feature some of her outfits on my blog for a long time, but I didn’t want to pressure her either.  She has agreed to send me pictures of some of her best outfits to share with you guys!  I’m really excited because of course, she has great style, but it’s also nice because she has a different career than me(she’s a teacher) and she’s a different body type than me, so it will be fun to give you inspiration on how to dress a more….voluptous body(think Marilyn Monroe haha) in a more conservative setting.

{Top: Banana Republic, Skirt: NY&Co, Belt: Target: Shoes: DSW}

I loved her combination of red stripes with mustard and navy blue that I decided to recreate my own version of this stunning look. While her’s is more “pin-up”/sexy, mine is more 50’s housewife(I like her’s better, but I don’t own anything in that silhoutte in those colors).  She’s Joan, I’m Betty(that’s a Mad Men reference in case you’re scratching your head wondering what I mean!).

{Blouse: Ann Taylor Factory, Cardigan: J. Crew Factory, Skirt: Made by Me, Necklace: Target, Shoes: Urbanog.com}

-Tamara

4 thoughts on “Teacher Thursdays: Ketchup and Mustard

    • guitargrl325 says:

      It does indeed look just like the J. Crew skirt. I’m kicking myself for not getting one from NY&Co when they still had them. Now, I’m searching all over for one(or for some mustard fabric to make myself one). I can’t stomach paying nearly $100(even on sale) for the J. Crew one. I’d like a leopard print one as well. I found a mustard pencil skirt at the limited, but the sizing was off and it just didn’t look right.

      Did you find leopard fabric already or are you still looking? Let me know your source if you find some!

      • Magical Effects of Thinking says:

        I found leopard print, but it was a few years ago. I got it at JoAnn’s and I bought around 4 yards. It’s certainly not top quality but what the heck. You could try online. Like Fabric.com. They also give swatches too.

      • guitargrl325 says:

        I love fabric.com. It’s my go-to source for fabric. I’ve actually got a few yards of different fabrics that I want to make pencil skirts out of currently saved in my shopping cart there.

Leave a Reply

