Life Changers

**This post is not about profound and meaningful experiences that change your life.  It’s about everyday stuff that has made a huge difference in your day-to-day living.**

I hate blowdrying my hair.  I always have.  My typical routine is to wash my hair at night and go to bed with semi-wet hair.  Usually, I shower a few hours before bed so that at least my bangs are dry by the time I go to sleep.  Last night, I procrastinated and didn’t shower until right before bed.  My hair was a hot mess this morning.  I really should’ve take a picture!  My bangs were by far the worst-sticking up and crazily curled in 6 different directions.

I was able to easily tame my wild mane with a few passes of my flat-iron, but it got me thinking of my life pre-flat iron and how, had I had a flat-iron in Jr High/High School, my life might have been very different.  I didn’t discover the wonder of the flat iron until I was 20 years old!  Hey, I’ve always been a little behind the times.

Anyways, in Jr. High was probably when my hair was at it’s worst.  I had it cut short, but with bangs and I would do the same thing I do now(shower at night and let my hair air dry). I’d often wake up with crazy cowlicks and uneven layers…but I had no way to fix it!  So I’d just brush it, hope for the best and go about my day.  I was far from popular in Jr. High.  In fact, I was so far down on the social ladder, I was nearly at the bottom.  I was relentlessly teased about my glasses, my red hair, my clothing choices, you name it.  I pondered today as I straightened away the cowlicks in my unruly mane, that if I had known how to better manage my hair as a teenager, maybe I wouldn’t have been teased nearly as much.

Moving on to today’s look.  I found this dress at Goodwill a few weeks ago, and I’ve been really excited to wear it(I had to wash it about 3 times to get the goodwill smell out).  It’s so comfortable that I feel almost like I’m wearing Pj’s and I think the style is really flattering to my body type.  I definitely have already made plans to wear it with tights and boots once the weather cools off! It even has pockets, which you know is my favorite thing about any skirts or dresses.  Plus, it never needs ironing(yay knit jersey!).

 

{Dress: Thrifted(brand is Bisou Bisou which I think is JC Penney’s, Necklace/Cardigan: WHBM, Shoes: Ross}

What’s your number 1 beauty/fashion life-changer?

-Tamara

 

4 thoughts on “Life Changers

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    Tamara, that dress is amazing on you – something about the blue maybe? I don’t know but it is just a nice dress that really works with your figure and colouring!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I threw it in my cart at the last second at goodwill the other week. It was on one of the mannequins and it wasn’t initially something that i would’ve considered but something told me to get it. I’m really glad I did, because I completely agree that there’s something about the style and cut that works really well for my body type. Plus for $4, you can’t beat it!

  2. heidi says:

    tamara, i feel like i could have written this post myself. i was a quintessential awkward girl in middle and high school and never felt confident in my skin with huge glasses and a hair color i hated being called red (your red is gorgeous, btw). i have always had naturally curly/frizzy hair and it was tied in a knot at the back of my head everyday. in some ways, i wish i had discovered a flat iron at that age too… i think it would have really helped with my self-confidence. i never wore my hair down until my freshman year of college (and even then just a few times) when i got a hair straightener and straightened it. it’s amazing how one product or tool can help you feel 100% more confident. also, i LOVE this dress on you!!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I know for certain that if I ever have a daughter, I will teach her how to style her hair and wear makeup(when she is of the appropriate age of course!). Not in the beauty queen style, but what is appropriate for her current age because it makes such a huge difference in your self confidence and your experience in school. As a result of my experience in jr high and high school, I’ve had to work extremely hard to overcome my low self esteem and self confidence.

      It would be very interesting to me to know how many of us “fashion” bloggers had bad experiences in our teenage years(maybe we’re all compensating for it somehow?)

Leave a Reply

