Under the Big Top

I made another version of the Kate Skirt(tutorial here) this time using red/white striped outdoor fabric.  I had originally intended to have it finished and ready to wear on the day of the Olympics opening ceremony since it is very patriotic looking.  But, I didn’t finish it in time!

This past weekend, I had my first successful “up-cycle” of a blouse I purchased from Goodwill. I didn’t take a before shot, but, it was your standard run of the mill french cuff button-up blouse.  I removed the collar and the sleeves, took in the sides by a few inches(it was a couple of sizes too large for me), gathered the shoulders and added a neck tie collar.  Overall, I am really happy with the way it turned out, though if I were going to make another one, I’d probably choose a blouse that already fits me so all I had to do is add the tie at the collar.

I figured the two pieces would work really well together.

Of course there are pockets!

{Blouse: Brooks Brothers(thrifted and up cycled), Skirt: Made by Me, Shoes: Bakers, Headband: Michael’s}

It might not be obvious at first glance, but the top is very narrow vertical stripes of blue and white.  The stripes on my skirt along with the fullness make me think of a circus tent, hence the title of this post!

I’m excited for the weekend because not only am I going to see my favorite comedian perform(Jim Gaffigan FTW!), my sister and her husband will also be in town!  PLUS, Sephora is finally opening in our mall tomorrow morning and I’m planning to be there for the grand opening(and hopefully I can win a gift card so I can get some new makeup!).

-Tamara

7 thoughts on “Under the Big Top

    • guitargrl325 says:

      It gets easier every time and I think I get better every time(at least my hubby says so). I have fabric to make at least 3-4 other versions…haha…once you have a routine down, you run with it!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thank you for such a nice compliment! I don’t really think I’m that “creative”..more so I am good at seeing something I like and re-creating it. I don’t create much from scratch, but if you give me a starting point, I will run with it and make my own version. It was the same way when I was in art class in HS. I am decent at drawing and painting but not at coming up with my own ideas…but give me a picture to copy and I can do a great job at that! So, I’m not sure what to call that…I’m a good copy-cat?

      • lushlili says:

        Well I certainly think you have a good eye in recreating what you see into your own style.

        What I loved about this was that you took a top and added the bow and it just worked so well with the red and white skirt.

        Plus, your hair always looks amazing 😀

      • guitargrl325 says:

        It’s seriously only because of the blog that I do my hair everyday. Before I started the blog, I did my hair…mmm…maybe once a week…the rest of the time it was in pony-tails or buns(and not stylish ones). It didn’t help that for awhile I was working at a practice that just drained the life out of me. I’m so much happier now that I think my styling has gotten better.

Leave a Reply

