Black and Tan

Most of the time, I come up with the outfit then try to think of a post title that fits the look.  Today is the exception.  I thought of the name(and no, I wasn’t at a bar when I thought of it!) and then put an outfit together to make it work.

This look shows that it is perfectly acceptable to pair black and brown.  The key is to make it pronounced that you have chosen to pair these colors together(i.e., not wearing all brown except for a black belt or shoes).  Mix these colors throughout your whole look and you will create a lovely outfit!

99.9% of the time I wear the outfits I post on here exactly as shown to work.  I do this because I want to show you how I really dress for work.  I know a lot of fashion blogs put together really amazing, over-the-top outfits just for the sake of the blog. While those may be pretty to look at, they’re not practical. I could take my wedding dress, pair it with some chunky ankle boots, a blazer and tons of necklaces/bracelets and stand in the middle of the street pouting.  It would make a really cool picture, but there’s so many blogs out there that do that better than me.  That’s not what I’m about.  I want my blog to be a practical look at how a professional woman dresses while still maintaining a level of style.

That being said, when I don’t wear my outfits exactly as shown, I typically like to tell you why.  I didn’t wear the outfit above as pictured.  The reason?  The skirt is skin tight around my thighs. Almost uncomfortably so.  There is definitely a difference between fitted and tight, and I felt that currently, this skirt crosses into the “too tight’ region. But, the silhouette it creates looks better than any of my other skirts, plus the varying shades of brown in the panels coordinated so well with the overall look I was going for that I decided to go ahead and use this picture.

However, because I want to be transparent with my outfit choices, here’s a picture of how I actually wore it, and I think you’ll agree with me that the pencil skirt definitely looks better overall(tightness notwithstanding).

{Blouse: WHBM, Cardigan/Pencil Skirt: Limited, A-Line Skirt: Ann Taylor Factory, Necklace: NY&co, Shoes: kate Spade}

4 thoughts on “Black and Tan

  1. heidi says:

    i love that i have found your blog as i think we have a very similar mindset towards getting dressed everyday and what we post on our blogs. every outfit i post is what i actually wore that day too… and if for some reason i choose different shoes after the pics were taken or add accessories, i comment on that and give my reasoning. getting dressed is definitely a process and i find that talking that through-like why i chose to wear a certain pair of shoes over another-really helps me define what works for me and then hopefully my readers will provide me with their feedback, too. i really see what you mean here about the difference between the two skirts!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      I completely agree with your sentiment. I like to show options or how I actually wore things not just for transparency, but also so my readers can learn the process by which I put an outfit together so they can learn to do the same for themselves. It’s also helping me learn how to better put outfits together myself.

Leave a Reply

