How to Grow a Woman From The Ground

So I have decided when I absolutely cannot come up with a cute or related title for my posts, I’m going to choose a random song name or phrase.  And that’s what we have today.  A title brought to you by the name of a Chris Thile album.

Hubby was around making me laugh while I was trying to take my pics!

This is the very first skirt I ever made for myself.  I found this fabric at Jo-Anne’s in the remnant section.  It was less than 1 yard and I cut it in half, sewed the two side seams together, added some small pleats and attached it to a piece of elastic.  Simple as can be, but it works!

Though, for me, it wasn’t very simple because my original plan was to make some sort of a skirt dress out of the material and I tried about 6 different incarnations until I finally just made it into this skirt.  BUT, it would be exceedingly easy to make another skirt like this one if I wanted.

Doesn’t hurt that it makes me look teeny tiny!  That’s what high waisted fuller skirts will do for your figure! Draw attention to your waist and cover up your expanding hip/thigh region(if it is indeed expanding as mine as been over the past few months).

Of course you know that I actually wore this with a cardigan!

{Blouse: Ann Taylor Factory, Cardigan: J. Crew Factory, Skirt: Made by Me, Bracelet: WHBM, Necklace/Belt: NY&Co, Shoes: Kate Spade}

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “How to Grow a Woman From The Ground

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    Starting this comment before I even finish reading the post: I saw the first pic and thought – wow, what a great skirt!! I know she’s been making her own clothes but I’m sure that’s store-bought. Then I read it was your FIRST sewing project!!!! Double-wow isn’t enough!
    Aaand I’m back after reading the rest! Looking good!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Haha! I think that the fabric is actually an upholstery fabric..the flowers are velvet and the background’s kind of shiny/slick…but it works!

Leave a Reply

