Options

One of the main reasons I started this blog was to help other woman like myself figure out how to put together cute, affordable and stylish outfits.  I hope to accomplish this in two ways: First, by providing inspiration for actual outfits that you can re-create with similar pieces in your wardrobe.  The other is to show how you can take simple accessories and change the overall look of the outfit.

My looks generally consist of a skirt, cardigan and blouse or shirt. It’s a simple formula that works well for me.  The key to creating different and fun looks is to try different color combinations as well as different accessories.

I started with this rather straightforward combination of blues and yellows with an added pop of red in my shoes and necklace.

Since I have a red belt as well, I put it around my waist while keeping the shirt untucked. It adds a bit of structure to an otherwise more straightforward look.

It’s funny how much I like wearing the high waist belt nowadays because 4 years ago, I actually  hated the trend.  Just goes to show you that trends can grow on you as your exposed to them! One trend I don’t think I will EVER LIKE is skinny jeans.  I just hate them on myself and don’t think they’re very flattering on the majority of the population.

The final way I came up with to style this look is to tuck the shirt into the skirt and loop the belt around the top of the skirt(my belt is adjustable so this is easily accomplished).

This takes the look to an entirely new level of polish and professionalism.

{Tank: Target, Cardigan: J Crew Outlet, Skirt/Belt: Limited, Shoes: Bakers, Necklace: Made by Me}

So, which version did you like best?

I went with #2, because although I really liked the overall silhouette of #3, my tummy seemed a little pouchy today after last week’s eating fest and I didn’t want to deal with patient’s asking me all day if I’m expecting or having to remember to suck in my gut all day.  You can’t tell in the pictures, but it’s obvious from the side.  Comfort always wins for the work day!

-Tamara

2 thoughts on “Options

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    My fave is #3 because it is a *bit* more polished (and I guess I don’t like the high belt yet lol). I also really like how you accessorized in red. Btw, the lipstick is really flattering too!

    • guitargrl325 says:

      Thanks! My hubby hates the red lips(I think most men do), but they look best in pictures as compared to lighter colors, PLUS they last at least 4-6 hours without reapplying. Can’t beat that.

Leave a Reply

