Naturally Inspired

Did you have a good holiday(if it was a holiday for you)?  We had lots of company and stayed busy!  My sister-in-law, brother-in-law and niece visited us from Florida, as well as my grandparents from South Carolina.  It was a full house.

I had planned out a special 4th of July outfit post but never got around to taking the pictures because I made the choice to hang out with my family instead(family always takes priority for me!).  I’d love to show you some of the adorable pictures I took of my niece, but since I don’t know if my SIL would like her baby splashed all over the internet, I’ll just share this picture of my mother in-law’s dog Frankie(who was also visiting us while his mommy and daddy were in Canada):

Moving on to today’s post.  When putting together color combinations, one of the easiest ways to find inspiration is to look at nature.  Colorful plants and animals can provide endless inspiring combinations that will further your wardrobe.

I used a peacock feather as my inspiration today.  The peacock feather beautifully combines varying shades of teal, purple, brown, navy, and green.

I didn’t incorporate ALL the colors, but I had already planned to wear a navy top with a purple sweater over it.  At the last minute, I added the teal accessories and peacock feather headband.  It really pulls the outfit together and takes a meh look to a wow look.

{Blouse: Ann Taylor Factory, Sweater: Express, Skirt: NY&Co,Necklace: Target, Shoes: Rack Room, Headband: Belk}

Have you ever drawn outfit inspiration from nature?

-Tamara

One thought on “Naturally Inspired

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    As usual, you look great!! And I am developing serious shoe-envy!!! I have a question – how do you decide what to wear? As in wardrobe rotation, not coordination!!!

Leave a Reply

