Girly Girl

I can’t point my finger on it, but even though stripes are supposedly “masculine”, I feel extremely feminine in this look.  Maybe it’s the cut of the dress,the curly hair or the delicate pink cardigan with chiffon ruffles, but either way, I feel very delicate and girly today.

I originally got this dress probably 2-3 months ago.  I saw it on Gap’s website and I KNEW I HAD to HAVE it.  It ticked all my boxes:  navy stripes(!), pockets, full skirt, fitted bodice.  I feel that this silhouette of dress is the most flattering style of dress on my particular figure.  I immediately called all the Gap’s in my area to see if they had it in my size.  Of course they didn’t!  I ended up waiting a week or so, and purchased the dress online with a coupon and some reward $, so essentially it cost me nothing out of pocket!

I’m not sure why I’ve been saving it for so long and not wearing it.  Most of the time when I get new pieces of clothing, I keep them for 1-3 weeks before I wear them.  It’s not so much that I’m considering taking them back, but I guess I like the idea of having a brand new piece of unworn clothing that I can wear “in the future”.  Why I waited even longer with this dress, I can’t tell you.  I think it might have had something to do with the fact that I wanted this dress so badly, that when I finally got it, I was “worried” it wouldn’t “live up to my expectations” or something like that….Stupid I know!

Anyways, I hadn’t even planned on wearing it today!  But the dress I had picked out for today’s look DIDN’T FIT!  I mentioned yesterday that none of my shorts fit.  This is extending to multiple pieces in my wardrobe. I picked up a few pounds during my surgery recovery period eating too much junk and not doing any exercise.  I’m working diligently now to drop those pounds so I have access to my full closet.

So I was scrambling around trying to find a substitute(and feeling a little down on myself).  I figured it was time to bring out THE DRESS to cheer myself up!

{Dress: Gap, Cardigan: Limited, Jewelry/Belt: WHBM, Shoes: Kate Spade}

I decided to wear nude shoes, though I considered my pink pumps, because I felt with the stripes, ruffles and chunky jewelry, I had enough going on without adding crazy shoes.

How long do you keep new clothes before you wear them?

-Tamara

Leave a Reply

